Confessions logo

Once a multi-billionaire, he was in debt for millions after his parents went bankrupt and still insisted on starting his own business 2 times

Once a multi-billionaire

By Clemmens CroftonPublished 2 years ago 18 min read
Like
Once a multi-billionaire, he was in debt for millions after his parents went bankrupt and still insisted on starting his own business 2 times
Photo by Paul Cuoco on Unsplash

In thee world,d Not ever yon en Wants to be with someone, someone. very keen on the single life, for them, a more regular, sophisticated life, and, do not have to consider the thoughts of others, often the daily moodwill bee much ,I than the life of more people together, in vain a lot of instability, they may also enjoy the life of a person more. So which signs are like this?

In November 2017, a young man huddled on a cold bedpan, the cigarette in his hand about to burn out, the repeated smoke in his 23-square-meter rented room not dissipating for a long time.

Late autumn in Beijing is different from the south, and even without leaving home yo,u can feel the slightest hint of coolness.

"When we had you, our family had enough money to buy 100 suites in Shanghai." The young man shivered from the cold as his father's words rang in his ears once again when he was a child.

This man is my @entrepreneur Ding Wei, and in just a few years I went from being a billionaire to being a millionaire in debt.

(Billionaire to a million in debt)

I was born in Shanghai in 1994, a rich kid with a "golden spoon" in my mouth.

In the 1980 s, my father quit his job and went into the sea to sell rice and made a lot of money, so he returned to his hometown of Taizhou and set up a rice processing factory, which was shipped all over the country. Over a decade later, it had become a local leader.

But my father didn't stop there, he slowly expanded his business to include jewelry, clothing, finance, and other industries, and at the height of his career had 20 financial companies, many jewelry shops, and a fortune of billions.

I remember one day when I was a child, my father suddenly said to me after a busy day at work, "We could have bought 100 houses in Shanghai when we had you, we didn't have the foresight to do that, if we had done that, we wouldn't have had to be so tired."

My father was indeed very tired, he hadn't had time to pick me up since kindergarten and only caught me studying and eating, with monetary rewards for eating more, and if he was willing to accompany him on business trips to talk business.

Although he lacked companionship for me, he spoiled me to the bone and would try to meet all my requests. When I was in junior high school, he would even take the time to call me twice a day.

(The family was happy as a child)

After graduating from junior high school I went to a private international school. At that time, I often met my classmates who dropped out of school because their families were broke, so I joked with my classmates that the other side would support whoever's family was broke in the future, not realizing that the prophecy would later come true.

Billionaire to millions in debt

After graduating from the international school, I was sent to the US by my father to attend a prep school. I was living with an elderly couple who did not allow me to go out, saying it was not safe outside, so I just stayed in the house after school and played games. This went on for two and a half years and then I went back home because I was too bored.

I was only 19 at the time and there wasn't much to do when I came back home. My dad thought that kids should either study or work, so he sent me to a university in Shanghai. I met a lot of rich friends there, and there was nothing but hangovers and fun all day, not a single sober day.

After living a life of paper and money for most of the year, one day we suddenly realized that we couldn't keep playing like this. At that moment, we all decided to quit school and go to our respective fathers' companies.

(We were hanging out with a group of brothers)

My father agreed to my dropping out of school, but didn't give me any big projects, so he let me run errands in the company. Many of the staff called me "Little Chief Ding", but they wouldn't listen to me. Over time, I found myself living under my father's thumb, and after thinking long and hard about it, I left.

In 2013, I joined a friend's company, and with the help of my previous contacts and friends, I was able to make a profit of 300,000 a month. I was 19 at the time and had just had a taste of making money, and didn't bank on it, just laid it out on my desk in piles to look at and then threw it in the safe.

But then I had an argument with my father over a business issue and I left the company, and my father threw me $3 million to start my own business.

(My father threw me $3 million to start my own business)

The $3 million was not free to spend and I was restricted in every way from the start. My father was very good at copying existing businesses, but he was in denial about new things.

At that time, there were no leading group-buying companies in China, so I wanted to do group buying, but my father restricted me; there were no internet cafes in Taizhou, so I wanted to open one, but my father thought it was not something serious people did. Later, the first person to open an internet cafe in Taizhou earned a Porsche in three months.

Because of the constant restrictions imposed by my father, I slowly began to decay. After a long time with nothing to do, my father asked me to do jewelry, because even if jewelry loses money, the goods are still there, or the capital.

In 2016, he gave me a 300 sq ft jewelry shop in Shanghai.

When I first arrived in Shanghai, I was called to dinner by a friend, during which I met a girl from Nanjing, who I felt was good-looking and got involved in a relationship. I knew something about her previous experience at the time, so I didn't treat her with care, but I didn't expect her to become a hard-to-break heart for me later.

(Running a jewelry shop in Shanghai)

When I was in Shanghai my father would visit me from time to time, and when he saw me riding my bike to the shop, he came up with the idea of sharing a bike. At that time the big bicycle companies had not yet entered Nanjing, so my father and I hit it off and were ready to set up our own bicycle-sharing business in Nanjing to capture the market.

The idea came about in October 2016, and in just over 2 months, the lock and bikes were ready. Although I was said to be allowed to start the business, it was arranged from the inside out by my father, even the speech I prepared at the launch was dropped by my father, who subconsciously always thought I couldn't do it.

I was working very hard at that time, always coming up with ideas to promote it, and I was working late into the night every day, and my user base was growing by several thousand every day. I wanted to prove to my father that I could do a lot of things.

In 2016, about 10 days before, my girlfriend returned home to Nanjing and came to help out where I was working. At that time, I was busy until the early hours of the morning every day, so she cut up fruit and made snacks for me.

We would wear new clothes on the first day of the year over there, and since we were too busy to buy them during that time, she bought clothes for me and my cousin. I was so touched at the time that I decided to be with her properly.

We stayed together for a while after New Year and I slowly got used to having her in my life, until one day she suddenly disappeared and her mother helped her deliberately hide the truth from me.

I was so distraught that I didn't feel like going on a business trip, but when I heard she was at my best friend's house, I flew over immediately. When I saw her, she had drunk a lot of wine and was crying while throwing up, telling me she was married and had a five-year-old child.

"It's okay." I was already on top of her at the time and didn't care about any of that.

But this was something my parents definitely wouldn't allow, but I took her back home to meet them anyway. She also got her divorce papers (she said they just hadn't done it, they had separated a long time ago) and I remember her crying the whole way afterward.

(Early days of the business)

In 2017, large cycling companies started to move into Nanjing, and the market was soon taken up. And the financial policy was reformed, my father's company was in financial straits, and he started pulling funds from the bikes without telling me, and later sold them to borrow money.

It wasn't until the end of May 2017 when a debtor came to the company and slapped me twice that it dawned on me that my father had started borrowing money all over the place.

That's when I had a big fight with my father. I told my father to go and sell the factory, but he wouldn't listen. I was so angry that I slammed the door and ran out. I was so drunk that I ran up to the rooftop, gave my cousin an account of the will, and then sat with my feet dangling from it. Later my parents rushed over and nearly fell to their knees trying to pull me down.

My father never listened to me and he continued to borrow. And I did, talking about not doing the bike anymore, but still grouped to remotely control the staff to get things running.

I sold my luxury cars, watches, and game accounts to keep the company afloat, and only really gave up when I finally couldn't pay my salary or goods and had no more money to advance myself. And that's how our bikes exited NJ.

(The bicycle dream was ultimately short-lived)

The money problem was never solved and the situation at home was getting worse, so my parents asked me and my girlfriend to go out for a break and come back when we were well. They said they wanted to take a break, but they didn't want me to see the miserable state of the family.

Before I left, my mother cried and slipped me 20,000 yuan, telling me to get on with my life. My father said that when this was over, he would open a hotel for me and just collect the money. He was always so optimistic.

At that time I left without looking back, I didn't dare to look back for fear of tears.

I went to Fujian, and half a month later my parents were arrested. It all came so fast, all at once, and there was nothing I could do to help them, so I started buying drinks every day.

My girlfriend at that time looked after me every day and comforted me. Then she went back to watch the kids and one day I was so depressed by myself that I started swallowing pills, but thankfully I didn't die. I didn't know when I woke up that day, but I was having a hard time vomiting bile, so I instinctively started to help myself and called 120.

(Telling the story to the media)

Not long after the pill swalpill-swallowing, I got a call from home saying I was wanted and that night I started packing my bags to go back the next day to tell, the truth, but I didn't think it would be too late. The next day, with a sharp knock on the door, two police officers stood at my door.

I was panicking, and so was my girlfriend, but I pushed down my fear, kissed her forehead, and followed them.

I spent the night in the Fujian detention centre and went to Jiangsu the next day. When I ate at the service area the police told me that this might be the last feast I ever ate.

(It was scary even then)

When I got back to Jiangsu, I told the police everything and was released on the 27th day. I didn't bring anything out with me, except a picture of my girlfriend. My sister was in tears when she picked me up at the door, but I didn't feel anything, I was numb.

I called my girlfriend after I came out and she told me to break up. I sighed and hung up the phone. I quit smoking while I was in there, thinking I would stop smoking when I got out and marry her and have a baby, but then I renewed my cigarettes.

(When I first got out)

When I got out of prison I thought I would earn money to pay off my debts, so my aunts gave me 10,000 yuan. I took the money and ran to the north to try to make a project, but unfortunately, I didn't pull, in any investment, so I started going to Beijing to find media to do live broadcasts.

In November 2017, I had just arrived in Beijing, it was cold but not yet heated, I used all my money to buy live streaming equipment and had no extra money, so I slept on a bedpan for a week.

I remember that at that time there was a lot of media hype about my father, so the traffic to my live broadcast was high and I received over 200,000 gifts on the first day.

What surprised me, even more, was that inst, even more, lying on my sword, people who once had a lot of animosity in the game, people who hated all about dating, came and gave me an f gift and started encouraging me. But I wasn't actually in a very good frame of mind, and now and then I would wipe tears from the camera during the live stream.

I owe my parents about 900,000 yuan for the lawsuit, and I finished paying off 500,000 yuan in the first two months by live streaming.

(I wasn't in a very good frame of mind when I first came out)

My girlfriend even asked me to get back together while I was living in Beijing. At that time she was privileged to fly to Beijing every weekend to keep me company (but never came on time), but even when she did she disappeared by Friday and never told me what she was doing.

I found out later that she was having an affair with someone else and I was so angry that I texted her and scolded her. That night she flew back from Shanghai and knelt from 8 am to 5 am. I was stupid at the time and 8 am forgave her after she said a lot. I didn't expect her to start playing missing again later.

At that time, because of my girlfriend's affair, my mind was getting worse and worse, I slept on sleeping pills every day, had hallucinations after more doses, screamed for help in the group room, washed my face after being made to get up, and thought it was time for this to end.

My girlfriend's family is not well off, but when I went in she still forked out $100,000 to help me with the lawsuit, which I have paid back to her. She also asked me to borrow money, which I later found out was for her ex-husband when he had a car accident.

A bad person, she just does 'can't have money and wants love as much as she wants money. The first thing that I did was to send her a message a couple of years after we broke up that she was getting married, and I said "bless you" back.

(I hadn't been alive for long-lived was very thin at the time)

When I broke up with my girlfriend in 2018, I got out of the pain and started planning for the future. There was still a shortfall of 400,000 in external debt that was not urgent, and I didn't like live streaming. I heard that my parents were about to be sentenced, so I joined a company in Shanghai and prepared to do it for a long time.

When I first arrived in Shanghai, the company had just merged and listed, and after working for a while, I once sent a document to my boss when he was asking another employee to write the company's 10-year strategic plan, and he asked me to write one too. Later, seeing that my writing was okay, he let me follow him all the time, so I learned a lot of things. After a period of training, I was sent to Changchun to work on a project.

It was already the end of the year, and when I needed money in Changchun I suddenly found that my bank card had been frozen, and it was then that I remembered that I had previously given my father a guaranteed loan.

The sudden incident left me without even money to go back home, so I took a month's advance on my salary and my boss let me go with him for New Year's Eve when he saw I was down and out. Since then, I have followed my boss to New Year's every year and he has become a valuable person in my life.

In 2019, I returned to Shanghai after the project was completed, but unfortunately, my sister had a car accident when she took my fourth aunt to visit her parents in prison and she died.

(The car my sister and aunt were traveling in at the time)

The news of my fourth aunt's death made me very sad, I lost a lot of money to the other side at that time, and the lawyer's fees were also tight, so I took up a part-time job, one in Pu dong and one in Pu xi, running back and forth between the two sides, almost 60,000 after-tax income a month. After almost a year of work, I was relieved when my legal fees were paid off.

During that time, the short video business opportunity was very good, I had the idea of starting a business after work, so I recruited a few people to prepare to do a short video. As a result, the epidemic came and did nothing to keep people at home.

To go out in April 2020, the money to do the video will be burned up, hold the energy to do a Valentine's Day jewelry with goods, sold 80,000 but because of the real name of the reason there is no way to raise, so I borrowed money back to the supplier who shipped the money.

Just like that, after half a day's work, I was also backed up a lot and had no choice but to take a month off and call a buddy in Fujian.

"You come, Island l feed you." A familiar voice came from the other end of the line.

(Photo with the young Fujian brother and his family)

After a month at my buddy's house, I went back to the company and worked as a general controller for a project team. After a year of hard work, the account paid off, except for a large guarantee.

In 2021, I thought of opening a restaurant against the trend, so I sold my car which I had just bought not long ago, and with the investment of my buddies, I opened a noodle shop in front of Hangzhou Normal University, hiring a shop manager to run it, and working in Shanghai myself. At first, it, was good, with queues at meal times, but a month after it opened the epidemic came and business went into winter.

I was in Shanghai at the time and thought I could make money with my left hand and carry the shop through with my right, but as the epidemic was sealed and controlled, I was losing money with every eye I opened and closed. I was not afraid of losing money, but I was afraid of not being able to go out and make money.

The sky is the limit because the platform system has changed, in July this year I changed my real name and took out 80,000 yuan from the sale of jewelry in 2020. At this time my mother also came out, I had thought of running the noodle shop for her to take care of, but unfortunately, the noodle shop closed down, but I survived on the 80,000 yuan.

Then I was transferred to Chengdu to work on a project, but unfortunately, the epidemic came back not long after I arrived and I was quarantined for a long time before I joined the company, ready to continue to work hard and prepare for the future.

(My mother has lost a lot of weight)

I am 27 years old this year and have been through a lot of ups and downs, even though I feel that I have had a rocky road in life. My uncle called me when he found out that my mother had been released from prison and asked me not to bother my grandfather, they had both worked for my mother's company and she had treated them well, but now this is how they are treated.

I have also visited my father many times over the years and his experiences have taught me important lessons in life

vintageNatureFamilyHumanityWorkplace
Like

About the Creator

Clemmens Crofton

An eye for an eye thought for an obsession.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.