Confessions logo

Newbie Nurse

A Quick View to a New Nurse Life

By MeaganPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Newbie Nurse
Photo by Hush Naidoo on Unsplash

Becoming a nurse isn't something I chose, nursing chose me. Truly, I know how cheesy this may sound, but in all sincerity, I've wanted to become a nurse ever since I was, give or take, four years old. Nursing was introduced to me by my grandmother; she'd been a nurse for most of her life and as she'd share memories of her wild adventures and turmoils, I could see the vivid passion within her eyes. I could see how happy being a nurse had made her and I remember thinking, "I want to be that happy someday."

Don't get me wrong, being a nurse is hard, heavy, demanding and exhausting... It's not for everyone. It has it's inspiring and heartwarming moments, but it's tough work. Going into nursing for the pay is, putting it bluntly, like shooting yourself in the foot. This is not a career, it's a lifestyle. A vocation. I grew up knowing I wanted to help others, to contribute to society by helping those in need. This hasn't changed. I have now been a nurse, for almost two years and I'm simply in love. I've cried, unaware that a human being could cry with such intensity. I've smiled, with mouth and heart. Some might describe it as a love-hate relationship, but when balanced, the best relationship one could ever want.

I debuted my career with an agency, which means I traveled places I'd never been and had to learn the facilities ways of functioning on the spot. "Go with the flow," is basically what I'd have to do. This was all new to me, textbook knowledge in mind, but barely any experience in the field, in complete honesty, I was terrified. This small part of my journey, though presented many difficulties, helped me adapt and step out of my comfort zone. It taught me to fly, even when staying close to the nest felt, oh so very reassuring. After a few months, I'd been out shopping and received a call, I had been offered a position at the hospital. Meaning stability, social advantages, etc. I was beyond thrilled. A new adventure.

I began this new chapter in the Maternity ward, which I'd picked as one of my three choices. Seeing newborn babies everyday? Hell to the yes! Well, seeing newborns is still a thrill, but I must admit I wasn't ready for such a rollercoaster ride. Given I was a registered nurse, I began working in obstetrics, which constituted in being the nurse present during birth and shortly after birth. The few months that followed my arrival were the hardest. I'd finish work, sit in my car and cry my eyes dry. The days I didn't cry, were considerably good days. Luckily, I am young and am not with child, for the time being, so this transition was something I could concentrate entirely on.

It has now been a year and a half and I have now been offered a full-time position in maternity. It's continuous learning, every single shift. A new adventure is on the way; working nights. Night shifts can be demanding for certain people, either it works or it doesn't. Simple as that. Managing family and work with night shifts can be easier, compared to having an evening shift. Day shifts, in maternity, can take years to acquire and aren't handed our easily. Life projects also come up and nursing is continuous learning, so you have to find a balance. Nursing is still new to me, but has managed to become a part of who I am. Looking forward to many more years of happiness and turmoils.

Workplace
1

About the Creator

Meagan

Hi!

My name is Meagan, I'm a registered nurse and have always enjoyed writing. I write on my free time given I have a busy schedule! It's a new for me; to be sharing my writing with others! I hope you enjoy :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Fabulous work! Keep it up

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.