Confessions logo

My Vocal hits 1000 reads??

How did this happen?

By Jazzy Published 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
109
Isn’t it beautiful!?

I started on Vocal a couple of years ago and, after a week, decided to jump off. However, upon returning and diving into my writing career, I invested in Vocal Plus; this decision alone ignited a drive to write more. By writing more, I am sharing and learning more as well. I'm making friends with people I never thought possible on this platform.

I look forward to poems and stories from others (especially Real Poetic). I get so excited when I get comments from those I admire fiercely (I'm looking at you, Naomi Gold).

When I returned to Vocal after a few years of hiatus, I had around 450 reads. This was after two years and approximately 25 stories. After being on Vocal Plus for the last month, I have finally reached my 1000 reads! I have written over 50 articles and poems in that time and entered all the challenges. In the "Short and Sweet" challenge, I entered 12 poems. I am awestruck at the inspiration this platform continues to give. I never would have been this excited to sit down and perfect the craft. I'm so invested and want to run with the significant poets (Paul Stewart) that I'm even contemplating taking classes online for writing. This is all thanks to a community that challenges and creates a space where we can shine and influence each other! Where haiku book challenges (Judey) is designed for fun and makes me want to write a haiku (which would never have happened on its own).

While initially, I was excited by the prospect of making money on my writing, the more fantastic opportunity is that I get to read so many astounding stories and poems. The level of writing on this platform is exhausting! I am conditioning myself to keep up. Ashley Lima crafts these stories that keep me thinking; seriously, I find myself grocery shopping and thinking of your accounts; and Gina C. You create poems that make my heart yearn for more.

I see the skill, and I'm grateful I'm a part of a community with this commitment. The commitment to each other and to the platform. Where the synergy of helping one another and promoting each other is palpable. The other day, someone wrote an acrostic for one of the creators undergoing heart surgery. (To which my thoughts and prayers go out, and whom I won't name directly unless they want to tell us in the comments!) Vocal is what Facebook could have been, what Instagram wishes it was, and what Twitter will never be.

Our support for one another is exhilarating and intoxicating; the ability to come back day after day is dedication. Oh, and the man who just wrote his 1500 story on Vocal. What an achievement; to write so much and provide so much for us. He did that for us, for the collective we to enjoy. We write to persuade, to share, and to feel. We write to experience things we never thought possible.

Above all, I am so grateful that Vocal exists and that all of the people here exist for me to feel safe enough to talk to day after day; as I share my voice and look forward to publishing my stories and finding new mini challenges (again Real Poetic). While becoming a more fluent writer is my goal, and the Top Story badge is a dopamine grenade, I would love nothing more than to win a challenge. Though I won my first Top Story, I cried to my husband; being recognized for what I always thought of myself as a good writer was nice.

This brings me to my point if you are new to Vocal and wondering how long until your time, just know that if you make writing the goal, you will prevail. You put the work in, and the accolades will come. You support others on the platform, and they will help you back. You are not alone here on Vocal and are meant to write. You are a good writer, and you will only get better. Welcome to Vocal, where your writing journey is just the start. From the bottom of my heart, I want to thank everyone who takes the time to read my poems and stories; who leaves comments for me to ponder, and, of course, for their continued support. Here's to many more challenges and words that will grace our eyes.

HumanityFriendship
109

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (73)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen A. Roddewig4 months ago

    Here taking notes for my own celebratory post, and wondering how soon we'll the Jazzy 2K Extravaganza?

  • JeRon Baker7 months ago

    Even though I think true passion is not fueled by reward, this was a dose of motivation. The amount of people thriving on this platform can make a man feel so small. 😅

  • Margaret S.9 months ago

    Congrats!!

  • Gen-Z Writes.9 months ago

    Congratulations Jazzz ❤️

  • Coral Levang9 months ago

    I am new here, even after signing up awhile ago and paying for Vocal+. I aspire to be like you, and will work for my first 1000 reads! Congratulations!

  • Tammy Reese9 months ago

    Keep up the great work!

  • Gigi Gibson9 months ago

    Yes… it IS beautiful Jazz! Another awesome and heartfelt piece. 🙌🏻🥳

  • S. C. Almanzar9 months ago

    That's wonderful! I recently hit 100, and I hope to reach 1000 someday, You're very consistent in the work that you put out!

  • Test9 months ago

    Congratulations! That is Awesome. I may go any cry somewhere with my measly 122 🤣🤣🤣 I loved how you name dropped awesome writers and how passionate and enthusiastic you are about writing and being part of Vocal. Thank you for sharing it with us!

  • PP9 months ago

    I think you deserve more. What is your current stats?

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Congratulations on 1k! :D

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Congrats!

  • Darkos10 months ago

    Congratulations!

  • Berry Driven10 months ago

    I connected with this. You have inspired me to want to do more. I'm just starting today and I hope to do well and upgrade.

  • Eddie Mikler10 months ago

    Congrats!

  • Colin Munro10 months ago

    Congrats.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Here here! & congrats on your leaderboard placement etc. Many terrific ‘shout outs’ in your piece! 😊

  • Amjad Ateih Dib10 months ago

    don't forget to add comments sister you have nice work

  • Doc Sherwood10 months ago

    This struck a chord because I myself am hovering over one of those Vocal "milometer moments" (I mean, like waiting for when all the zeroes roll up again!). Must post something, I need those two reads that are going to push it over! Before that, however, congratulations on your thousand!

  • Joblul Mustan10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/journal/shah-rukh-khan-j62av08tq

  • Glammy Girl10 months ago

    Wow!! Even This article is soo good 🥺💖 Heartiest congratulations to you. 🥳💖🌼

  • Kamarul Rusydi10 months ago

    Congratulations on your accomplishment! I'm eager to connect further and support each other. Should you choose to subscribe to my content, I'd be more than happy to reciprocate and subscribe to yours as well.

  • Queencygloria10 months ago

    Please subscribe to my vocal I will subscribe at yours and let’s be friends. Thanks you.

  • Queencygloria10 months ago

    Congratulations 🍾. I’m new on here. Was getting discouraged but something tells me to continue so I’m back and I’m ready to make something different. Please guys let’s follow each other

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Cheers to you, definitely an accomplishment!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.