Confessions logo

My Story

Chapter 1;Early beginning

By clara henriettaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
life is a journey

My name is Clara, i came from a family of six. My parents, two brothers, one sister, lol and myself inclusive. I'm from a christian home. Growing up as a child was tough, not financially but socially, my siblings and i weren't allow to go places, like visiting friends, sleepovers, hanging out with classmates, we were always confined in the corners of the house. whilst my parents leave they would lock us up and make sure to keep everything we might need, the experience was crazy.

African parents can be quite a handful sometimes, cox they believe that the best way to train a child is from restricting them from most things in other word make them more Africans, i don't know if that suppose to be a thing . all this took place whilst still in primary level.

Secondary level was quite different cause the confinement was no longer at home but rather in the school dormitory, i leaved in the dorm with my elder sister starting from junior secondary 1-senior secondary 3. The institution was that of missionary institute where all our behavior are regulated in a christian-like way. We are basically timed for everything, starting from rising time, to time to eat, time for class, time for sport, time for prayers, time for extra circular activities such as; washing of school uniforms, keeping both dorms environs and the school clean and tidy, down to retiring to bed. it was so difficult at first that i began to wish of the confinement i experience at my own home to be swapped with that of the dorm own.

The dorm was quite bearable cox my sister was with me so i felt more at home with her been there with me. i was quite a stubborn fella, i argue a lot even when the situation doesn't call for it, looking back at myself then always cracks me up, cox main "persin dey change" and is the only thing constant in once life. I developed an eye problem due to my stubborn nature, my elder and i myself where suited in the same dormitory St Maria Gorathy Hostel and basically have the same bed space since she is like two classes away from me, so as my sister special preferences where made in my favor so as me not to feel much loner with people i don't know, so been in the same space with my sister was my best option.

So one faithful day, i received the hottest slap of my life when i refused to adhere to simple instruction. we had our provisions in one ''tinker box'' a box used backed in the days to store items, it can either be clothes or other items of choice, but ours was beverages. Every time i had this feeling that someone might have been tampering with our provision every time i bring it out, as a caring people i suggested to my sister that we should take out our provision and switch it to another location, she refused with the fact that it is most safer where it was.

My stubborn self no gree so i took out our provision from its original place to another where i felt it will be most safer.waking up the next day preparing for class, the morning meal that morning wasn't encouraging so we decided to take beverages, my sister doesn't take tea and milk together she drink only milk with cabin biscuit so on going to take out the beverages we received the most shocking flash of our eyes, the milk poured where i kept it without me knowing about it, there and then my sister was furious but not so furious as she asked me "who asked you to remove our provision from its original place to the cupboard without my consent and now see the outcome of your disobedient"? on me trying to defend myself and proving my actions right provoked her to that point where she raised her hand to my face, i practically went blind for close to 5 minute and when i eventually opened my eyes, my sight went blurry i could not longer see as per usual.

At first i thought it was the slap thing still covering my face hoping to clear off on or between an hour or two cox that slap "get weight". i cried heavily still in pains, while my sister was so furious because we didn't get to eat anything that morning. so later in the day she came over to my class to check up on me, she called me out i didn't respond to her cox i was mad at her, we got to the hostel i wasn't still talking to her, but it got to a point where my sight began to deteriorate, with tears in my eye i told her how her slap has affected my sight and that i was going to report her to our parent, she so much pleaded not because i said i was going to report her but for the fact that she injured me. my sight became so bad the following week, i had to take permission from the institute to go home.

Teenage yearsSchoolFamilyChildhood
Like

About the Creator

clara henrietta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • clara henrietta (Author)about a year ago

    there's more where this came from

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.