Confessions logo

My Spiritual Beliefs

December 2014

By Kristen UlrichPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
2

One December afternoon,

My hand started to shake,

I had no idea what was happening,

This I could not fake,

Then I started to write things that were not from this world,

A prediction of my future,

Coming from my great grandmother started to unfurl,

This was a great mystery to me,

An agnostic I no longer was,

Years later the spirits would come,

Like one big buzz.

Hi, my name is Kristen Rose Ulrich. I am a spiritual medium. I was born a Christian. I was baptized Lutheran, and my family and I throughout my life explored different Christian religions. We went to an Evangelical Christian church but that church eventually did not resonate with us. We were later confirmed Charismatic Catholic, and are now attending a Lutheran church again. However, apart from the journey I took with my family, I also took my own private journey with religion and spirituality. In my early twenties, after a series of crises and hardships, I found myself identifying as agnostic. That is, until December of 2014 when I got an automatic writing from my great grandmother. An automatic writing is when a spirit moves your hand to write or type a message. After that, every once in a while she would write through me. In November of 2016, I started getting visitations from many different spirits regularly.

I approach spirituality differently than I used to. Growing up, my family told me what to believe. As I grew into a woman, I retained some of those beliefs but adopted some of my own. I believe that Jesus is the Savior, but I also believe in reincarnation. In addition, I believe that we are all here for the purposes of developing a few spiritual virtues. These virtues include: self-love, unconditional love, personal power, patience, perseverance, and trust. Once we have mastered these virtues, we become an ascended master like Jesus.

My approach is to cherry pick the ideas from each religion that resonate most with me. I want my beliefs to be my own, not anyone else’s. This moment where my great grandmother wrote through me was a defining moment in my life. I had faith again. I had hope again. I wasn’t doubting God. However, the God that I was getting to know was painted in a much greater and brighter light. My spiritual beliefs have helped me to become a better woman, speech therapist, daughter, and friend.

Therefore, my identity has evolved from a young, accepting Christian, to a questioning agnostic, to an open-minded believer of a God who loves unconditionally. I understand that life goes on for all of us, and not just those who believe in Jesus. No matter how much of a scoundrel you were, you always have a chance to better yourself.

The spirits have helped me to grow into a more loving, and trusting person. Each day we examine my life’s problems, and we work toward better solutions. They teach me to love myself, and to love others unconditionally. This is how we should be ideally. I have also observed their growth too, over the years. You never stop growing, even after you pass away.

My biggest piece of advice to anyone struggling with agnosticism is: It doesn’t matter what you believe, but believe in something. Everybody has their own opinion on what is true spiritually. However, I know that there is a God. I would like to conclude this piece with a poem.

There is struggle every minute of everyday,

Please remember to trust in God,

Don’t fret,

Don’t forget,

Now let us pray.

Amen.

Secrets
2

About the Creator

Kristen Ulrich

Please view my website:

http://www.bluerosesweb.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    You have a real talent for writing. I must say, it was superb.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.