Confessions logo

My Native Village

- first memories of place I belong to

By Nira KumariPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
My Native Village
Photo by Antoine Plüss on Unsplash

When it comes the matter of my native village,  I can't refrain from speaking high of it because it is so in all respects. From the lush green agricultural lands to orchards, from irrigation canals to the Government Farms, from a Govt. Primary School to a College and Primary Health Centers,  it has everything in its vicinity. O My God! I got swayed away with emotions and forgot to tell you the name of my village. Yes, it's Chhoti Tengraila under Naubatpur Police Station in Patna District. 

Naubatpur is a small suburb located on the south-west outskirts of Patna Metropolitan region within the Indian state of Bihar. It now comes in Greater Patna. This small locality is surrounded by lush green agricultural lands and orchards.

My village, Chhoti Tengraila falls in Naubatpur Police Station itself. This place is very close to my heart. Naubatpur is my identity mark and I am proud of being born here. I don't need to write much about it because it's now a well known place in Bihar,  and even Wikipedia has described it gloriously. Now,  I would like to take you on a visit to my village. 

The entry to the village along the canal with tall green trees on either side mesmerizes you with an awe effect. The lush green agricultural lands with paddy plants waving at you in cool breeze add to the beauty of the village. There is a Bramhsthan in the beginning itself which inspires the feeling as if you were going to a place of religious worth. Moving ahead,  we find a Devisthan which is now being renovated. Devi Maa protects the villagers from all the evils of the world. There is a Lord Shiva Temple also in the middle of the village. It is the centre of attraction and spirituality and all the religious activities are performed here. A Yagya is organized every year in the month of February here. Lord Shiva blesses us with all the greenery and prosperity. 

There is a Govt. Agricultural Farm also on the west side of the village,  where the Wind Mills are functional for agricultural purposes. There is a Primary School as well which well defines the villagers' love for education. More than 80% people of my village are educated. At Lock, which is widely known as Lakhpar,  you can find a Middle School,  a High School and a College also which add to the glory of the village in the field of education and human resource development. These educational institutions play a great role in shaping the career of the youths of my village. Not only in medical and engineering fields,  the youths of my village are excelling in the field of Administration as well. Along with so many engineers and doctors, there is an IPS, a SI and some State Administrators also. Apart from them, there are so many people who have their own business. There is a Homeopathic Doctor,  Dr. Rambachan Singh who is a very renowned one and whose medicines are sure to cure you. 

As per available data from the year 2009, more than 2665 persons live in 446 house holds in my village. There are 1269 female individuals and 1396 male individuals in the village. Females constitute 47.62% and males constitute 52.38% of the total population.

There are 517 scheduled castes persons of which 254 are females and 263 are males. Females constitute 49.13% and males constitute 50.87% of the scheduled castes population. Scheduled castes constitute 19.4% of the total population. 

If you think about the facilities in my village,  it is rich with all the facilities. It has 24 hours electricity with three transformers. The farmers are well equipped with modern farming tools and techniques which accelerate the farming capacity and crop produce of the village. The main crops are paddy, wheat, gram, lentils, sugarcane, etc. You could have the juice of sugarcane or make jaggery or so many different things. Eat the mangoes of my village and you will come again and again to have it. 

There are some Primary Health Centers also in the vicinity at Naubatpur to provide easy health services to the villagers. AIIMS Patna is also just at 10 km distance from my village. The main town of Patna is just 30 minutes away from my village. Life is just town-like here. I feel proud to be a native of this village. 

The people of my village are very cooperative, amiable, good-natured and supportive. They are always ready to help one another. I am sure you won't feel bored ever. You can breathe in fresh air, have fresh water and a healthy food here. At the time of Chhath Pooja, the whole village becomes one and the Pooja is observed with a great sense of piousness and enthusiasm. The Pooja is offered at the village canal where the whole village gets together to celebrate it with a true sense of fraternity. 

I am getting tempted to write more and more about my village. But, it's not possible to write everything just in one story. It requires a book to write about it. I love my village too much. I am my proud of it.

Like a small child,  I can just say,  " East or West, my Village is the Best!".

Childhood
3

About the Creator

Nira Kumari

Hello wonderful Readers, I'm a school teacher passionate for writing. This year I turned 55, and have started my long life dream of becoming a Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.