Confessions logo

SINGLE MOTHER

A Lone Fighter

By Nira KumariPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
SINGLE MOTHER
Photo by Jhon David on Unsplash

SINGLE MOTHER - a mother who brings up a child or children alone, without a partner. It happens when the father is dead or the mother is a divorcee and looks after the children all by herself. My case was none of the two. It was a mutual separation, and I took the responsibility of the children all alone. And then started my journey as a single mother. 

In fact, my marriage remained a failure  due to some planetary disturbances in my Horoscope. I was Mangalik and my partner was a Non-mangalik one, so the marriage lost a happy conjugal bonding and settlement. Life was full of strife and struggles. I was made to be a victim of domestic violence. My children were just little kids that time. My elder son was nine years old, daughter seven years old and the younger son four years old. None of them had been admitted to any school till then. Life was a hell and the innocent children were getting spoilt with no school, no studies. I became ill with brain TB and life took a turn. My parents advised me to get separated from him for the children, and finally, I took this strong decision to live a single woman and a single mother for my children. 

The journey of being a Single Mother was not easy. Many hurdles came on the way, but I didn't surrender and the hurdles subsided automatically. I was totally focused. My sole mission was the upbringing and education of my children. I wanted to train them how to accelerate even through the storms of life. I wanted to make them focused and confident. I wanted to make them technically stronger, and they are all it now. I am so happy to introduce my children to you today. 

My elder son is a Civil Engineer. He was employed with RVNL, a PSU of Indian Railways, on the Post of Site Engineer, but he resigned it for a greater cause, and I am sure, he will be that one day. He is a very good-hearted, hard working and knowledgeable guy. He is very helpful and supportive too. His philosophical thoughts inspire everyone. May God fulfill all his wishes and illuminate his life with bright colours!

My daughter is a doctor who is doing all the good to relieve the people of their pains. She worked as a Corona Warrior during the COVID-19 Pandemic and saved thousands of lives. I have heard her crying over the death of two of her elderly patients who had succumbed to the lack of ICU beds and oxygen. Hats off to her for her sensitiveness and dedication to her work! Such a loving daughter she is. She is very beautiful and caring. I love her a lot. I wish for all the best in her life. May God bless her with extra energy and power! May God protect her from all the evils! 

My younger son is as his name signifies - divine in all respects. Such an incredible guy. He is a Software Engineer, all the while aspiring to do something new. Reading books is his hobby. A broad-minded and motivating one, meet him and he will enthuse you with a new vigour to live every single minute of life meaningfully. May God bless him with all the success in life! May he prosper day and night!

I am just a teacher. I couldn't achieve much, but I can tell you that I am a proud mother and my children are my true achievements. But this achievement was not an easy one. I forgot myself also to make it possible. Working in a school, running a tuition center as well as a hostel, looking after the households, it all made me active 24 hours. Right decision at the right moment,  it helped me a lot and prompted all my work. I can't overlook the patience of my children who suffered with me in my sufferings also. This life taught us that nothing can bar your paths if you decide to move on. I started this journey at the age of thirty-two and now I am fifty-four. And, the saga still continues. Thanks to the Almighty God to show me the right path and be with me all the while!

Family
2

About the Creator

Nira Kumari

Hello wonderful Readers, I'm a school teacher passionate for writing. This year I turned 55, and have started my long life dream of becoming a Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rimil Jaiswal11 months ago

    Ma'am such an inspiring journey. Hatts off to all mothers. Ma'am I love reading your stories . Your writing style is remarkable. I wish all the very best to become a great writer.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.