Confessions logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

My Mental Health Currently

I'm Pissed

By Rene PetersPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2
My Mental Health Currently
Photo by Julien L on Unsplash

That picture, though not me, is how I have felt a lot lately. I'm stressed. I'm anxious. I'm tired. I'm pissed.

My mental health is a mess but not in the worst ways that I have experienced. While I have been in the emergency room because of depression being so severe that I tried to end it all, I am (thankfully) not at that point.

I'm stressed about having to pay off college. I can't continue my education until I pay it off because I refuse to take out a loan for the cheapest college I can attend. I still owe about $4,600 and am working two jobs to pay it off. Both are part-time since I can't handle a full-time position mentally or physically.

Seizures are fucking up my health. Physically, there are problems from having seizures. I have migraines from the seizures and medications. I constantly find myself twisting and spraining my ankle while falling during seizures. Mentally, the issues are even worse than when I cracked my head open in February. The seizures amplify my depression and anxiety. When I am in a postictal phase, as I was on Friday after a seizure, I get to a point of wanting to die. It is rare that it makes me try but I get "passive suicidal thoughts," where I want to die but don't want to kill myself.

I'm always tired. I use a CPAP (continuous positive airway pressure) machine because of severe obstructive sleep apnea. As of last summer, July 2022, I stopped breathing about 35 times an hour... I didn't feel like a goddamn child before using the CPAP machine, needing a nap every day just to work for four hours and do dishes. Now I'm in this position where I need to nap at some point to function. I'm trapped in this state of absolutely no energy to physically do anything.

The good news about the issues with being tired is that I will be retesting in an updated sleep study. I have lost a lot of weight this year alone, about 50 pounds since February. I know it sounds like that could be unhealthy but in my case, it isn't. Despite my weight loss, I am still considered obese based on my body mass index. The updated sleep study will determine if my sleep apnea is no longer severe enough for a CPAP machine to be medically necessary.

I'm anxious just because I'm alive. Suffering from generalized anxiety disorder can be quite debilitating. I always worry that I'm not doing good enough. At work, I fear that what I make and how I help other people is a major screw-up. Every. Single. Time. For example, today, I was helping one of the cooks at the college that I work at and I told him I was sorry that I did so bad while cutting vegetables. Sorry that I was taking so long. I helped the main pizza person and apologized for messing up while trying my best to knead the pizza dough for her. I knew she wanted to leave so I tried to help but I did a terrible job (even though she said I did pretty good, especially compared to the last time I tried).

* * *

I'm sorry for the rant. If you read it all, thank you. I feel so alone in these emotions. I'm trapped in these negative thoughts, no matter how hard I try to change them. I try coping skills that used to work but it's like I am numb to the effects of them or I forgot how to do them.

CONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    I'm here if you ever need an ear to bitch in, hon. As always, healing thoughts and vibes your way. You're always in my prayers.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.