Confessions logo

My Brief Encounter With My Grandma’s Spirit

Or how the 12-year-old me contemplated the existence of ghosts

By Gabriela Trofin-TatárPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
AI-generated by the author with Bind Chat using the prompt: “One moment, I could see my grandma’s dark, soft figure sitting on the bed with her back towards me. She was a presence that could be felt — a breath of foggy air and shade. The shade of my grandma was somehow watching over me. I was not afraid, but I was mesmerized and deeply moved.”

After my grandmother’s death, we renovated the room where she spent her last days, sick and in bed.

The whole room was repainted, the bed changed, and even the arrangement of the furniture was different, breathing new life into the echoes of my grandma’s presence.

In a clandestine effort, my parents were preparing a surprise for me. That room was to become my own, and only I would sleep there—finally, a cherished space to call my own.

I remember exactly how my bed was rearranged, and I could see the faint light from under the door creeping in in case someone was still awake at night.

There was also a big window on the top of the door, so anyone could see if I was keeping a light on or not.

The memory of my grandma was still fresh. Many times, I found myself in heartfelt conversations with both her and God, pouring out my thoughts and emotions as if to a presence that could comfort the young me.

I was very much immersed in a child-fantasy relationship with the idea of believing in miracles, in life after death, and all the beautiful possibilities beyond.

My imagination was also abundant and still developing through all the books I was reading. I was 12 years old at the time.

The brief encounter

One morning, very early, when the house was still cold and dark, I woke up to prepare to go to school.

I was usually sleeping on my usual side of the bed, the right side.

One moment, I could see my grandma’s dark, soft figure sitting on the bed with her back towards me. She was a presence that could be felt—a breath of foggy air and shade. The shade of my grandma was somehow watching over me. I was not afraid, but I was mesmerized and deeply moved.

The next moment, she was not there anymore, and I was left with my mouth agape, crying, thinking how unfair the world was that my beloved grandma was not alive and well anymore with us.

The meaning

Yet, I knew that she had come to give me a sign—that she would always be with me. I knew it in my heart and have kept it forever since then.

So, ghosts? I do believe in them to some extent. Yet I am wary and careful of troubled souls that might be stuck in our world looking for something forever.

I hope my grandma has found peace, finally, beyond death, because her life was quite rough and unfair from many points of view.

But why do we encounter ghosts?

I think some people are more prone to feeling the energies around them and, hence, are also able to feel other presences beyond our living world.

Otherwise, it might not be our choice, but rather a combination of factors, emotions, and a belief in the paranormal. I leave you with the quote below, and I hope to also read your stories about ghosts.

“In the words of sociologist Christopher Bader, “The first requirement for there being a ghost in the house is someone believing there’s a ghost in the house.” Our perception of what is going on around us at any given moment is driven by our expectations, needs, and beliefs, and this is especially true when the sensory information we are receiving is sketchy and ambiguous.” From Psychology Today

I used one of the prompts from SSS Weekly Prompts Week 3. Check them all out and write your own story. We would be more than happy to read, publish, and promote it in Simple Story Seekers.

2. Do you believe in ghosts? If yes, share if you ever saw a ghost or believed you saw one.

---

***I originally published this story on Medium.***

💗 Thank you for reading! Hearts, pledges, and tips are motivating me to write more. I appreciate your support.💗

You could also buy me a coffee or a tea and/or let me know your ideas in the comments section.

SecretsFamilyChildhood

About the Creator

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Full Stack Developer in the making and mother of 3 littles. Curious, bookaholic and travel addict. I also write on Medium and Substack: https://medium.com/@chicachiflada & https://chicachiflada.substack.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Michelle Liew13 days ago

    My husband's grandma comes to me in the form of a butterfly! They do have different ways of visiting. Great sharing!!!

  • Chen Li-Yi13 days ago

    My only encounter so far (knock on the wood) is when I was still living in Tietgenskollegiet. One night I was looking all over my room for my Danish English dictionary but just couldn't find it (i had a Danish exam the next day) Thinking I must have left it somewhere somehow, and it was also pretty late. I went to be after possibly three hours of searching and room cleaning. When I woke up the next day-- the dictionary was right on my desk. Perhaps the spirit in Tietgenskollegiet wanted me to tidy up his property lol

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    Bader can say what he wants, I know that ghosts exist, I have had too many encounters to not believe. They visit, esp for a while after thy pass. Grandma came to let you know she will always watch over you.

  • Awww, she's always there with you, protecting you. I do believe in ghosts but I've not experience anything before

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Great story...loved the perspective from your 12 yr old self, too!

  • Kodah15 days ago

    Ghosts and spirits are very different! Ghosts are a category of spirits; however, they tend to use your energy. Spirits are usually the good ones you could say 😂. Beautifully done Gabriela, she's always with you 💓

Gabriela Trofin-TatárWritten by Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.