Confessions logo

My 30-day Journal Journey

I did a journal entry every day for 30 days to help me find my joy and purpose in life.

By Talara NolanPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
My 30-day Journal Journey
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

When you tell people that you are lost, usually they will say something along the lines of telling you to do what brings you joy. When I was feeling lost and depressed, every video I watched or article I read, said something about joy and doing what you love. However, when I really thought about it, I didn't know what that meant. I was so lost and depressed that I couldn't see what brought me joy. I understood the answer, but I didn't know what that meant for me. The thing about being depressed and lost is that you have a problem finding joy in life. So trying to make a life plan around joy and happiness was hard for me to come up with. That was when I read something that would bring me more clarity.

It was a journal challenge. And before you start with, while I don't write in a journal or I'm not a journal person, hear me out. This isn't your normal journal where you write about your day. I understand that is not for everyone. Every day for 30-days, you will write in your journal at night. You will answer a few questions.

What filled me with enthusiasm? What drained my energy? What did I learn about myself? Then you write 5 things you were grateful for that day, and 3 goal oriented tasks for you to do the next day.

The 5 things you are grateful for, have to be things that happened that day. For example, if you got a delivery or if someone held the door open for you. Make it specific to that day. The 3 goal oriented task are for things you want to accomplish the next day. Then you check off those task at the end of the day. So on Tuesday you will check off the tasks you wrote down on Monday, and make goals for Wednesday.

In order for this to do anything, you have to do it every single day. It is only 30-days. At the end of the 30-days, look back over your entries. Look over all the information and you will be surprised how much you can learn.

Now if you are reading this, thinking that this won't do anything and you are doubtful. Know that I was thinking the same thing when I saw it. I did it because I thought that it won't hurt anything, and would most likely accomplish something. I have always loved journaling, and I personally find it very helpful.

Going through the 30-days, I started to see a change already. The first thing was that it made me more focused. Having 3 things as the main focus, and actually checking them off at the end of the day, made me more focused during the day. I didn't like getting to the end of the day and not checking off those tasks. I felt like I didn't accomplish anything. It also made me realize that I tend to put a lot of things on my agenda to do in a day. By putting so many things on my to-do list, I try to focus on too many things, and don't actually accomplish a lot. By having those 3 tasks as my main focus for that day, I found that I was accomplishing more. I found that I went through my day differently. I went through my day trying to be more focused, and being more aware. Having those questions to answer, and things to write down, I was more aware of my day.

By answering the questions, I was more aware of where my time went. At the end of the day, I would really consider the questions and my answer to them. If you just write down whatever, then there is no point. Really think about your answers carefully, and review your day. It made me aware of where my time went. How much time I was spending on good things, and how much time I spent on things that made me unhappy. Going through the day, it's easy to lose track of time. An hour can easily become two. When you get to the end of the day, can you really tell me where your time went, and what you did with your time. We all get 24 hours in a day. The difference between people is how they use that time. It made me really think about what I did with my time. It also made me really think about how much time I was using towards my goals, and honestly it wasn't enough. I suddenly was aware that I was saying I wanted these things, but in a day I wasn't using a lot of time towards that goal. No matter what it is, if you are only using a few minutes towards those goals, then are they really important to you?

I can say that it helped me to see joy in my life. It helped me to get out of my depression. I was able to see joy and happiness again. I was able to see through my darkness, so that I could see that I did have joy in my life.

It didn't give me all the answers, it's only 30 days. But I can say that it helped me a lot. It helped me to see through my darkness to the light. I could see things that brought me joy, I could see that there was joy in the first place.

After I did the 30-days, I went through my life differently. I was more aware of my time and what I was spending my time on. It changed my outlook. And if you want to change your life, then the first thing that you need to change is your outlook on things. So much of life is just about mindset.

I know that it's hard to see happiness all the time, hard to know what brings you joy. This really will help you narrow down what brings you happiness. No matter what brings you happiness, if it's writing, cooking, working out, clothes or makeup. Whatever it is, you can find a way to make a career out of it. You can make a career out of anything. And this will help you find what feels your soul with joy and happiness.

Even if you are not a journal person, try it for 30-days. And you will be surprised how much it will change your life.

-T

Bad habits
Like

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.