Confessions logo

Ma Is This Your School?

"I have a reason for this Questions"

By Avizz V WrightPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Ma Is This Your School?
Photo by sergio souza on Unsplash

It's been over 7 years and my family are still hunting me with laughter over the "Ma Is This Your School?" question I asked. My mom is not from my hometown and I know little about her childhood. It's been 5 years since she died and I have so many wonderful memories to bring comfort and joy. I do remember traveling every weekend to my grand parents home in the DMV area in our family car pulling up to the yard while my boy cousin waited to get his first hit. We do our normal run around the car see if you can catch me game. My mom would get the weekly report of how bad your child is at pick up. So I thought this was my mom home town but learned later as I got older her actual birthplace and childhood residence until years later after my granddaddy died. This is when we would travel for 3 hours or more to where my grandparents met and siblings lived. As we visited I learned more about my mom younger days. Also, this is where I also experience the mountain fresh air and Carmel cake with homemade ice cream with the elders of our family.

So, let me get back to my family joke that is text and brought to my memory with laugher as I travel pass the location where this question was asked. Well here we go it started with the 6 of us going with my mom to a celebration where she connected with old friends and taking pictures as mom always did. She would introduce me as her daughter while the guest laughed about the times of the past. The event had speakers who gave encouraging words and awards. The menu was very good because it included my favorites chicken and homemade cakes. Ma purchased items from the souvenir table. We were there for about 3 hours or more enjoying my mom face light up. Ok here come my statement to my mom as we are leaving and explore the building "Mom is this your school?" next I see my 3 cousins my age group start laughing as I see one running down the hall, one falling on the floor and the last one holding her belly as if she cant handle it. I am looking at them like what I do now? Mom and my aunt looking puzzled with my question. I was saying "What's wrong?" my cousins were like that's the stupidest question ever still laughing at me saying we been here almost 4 hours "This is her High School Reunion Dummy" I kept saying I asked for a reason until this day they would not here my excuse. I began getting text mocking me since the day and oh let me not mention the family conversations with joy and holding our side from the laugher. With me still attempting to give my reason with all saying "No Excuse" So maybe I get finally have justice in this community of confession as I am laughing out loud writing this story.

Well, here is it I remember my mom telling me as we were driving pass an abandon house that may be a historical landmark because of segregation. So, I thought that was my mom school location in her birthplace. Finally, help me just get some support here of the fact that some High School Reunion are held at other location besides the actual building right. Come on give some support here I need it. I am so grateful for you all allowing me to share my story. I look forward to being inspire more and more as a new member of this community. That's my story and I am sticking to it.

Embarrassment

About the Creator

Avizz V Wright

I'm totally a DC Washingtonian who is a Motivator for Life, Purpose, Goals and Good Works this is done by speaking life, truth, and love to all those I encounter everyday. My desire is help people experience the freedom to be you and used.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Avizz V WrightWritten by Avizz V Wright

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.