Confessions logo

Listen to your body!

It says it all!

By Audrey DeLongPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Listen to your body!
Photo by Rodolfo Sanches Carvalho on Unsplash

This morning as I sat there working, after that 30-minute workout, I thought I was dying, and not from working out either. I felt I was dying due to the fact I had consumed so much caffeine in 24 hours, at least 4 times what I normally consume, and my body didn’t know how to handle it.

After resting for about ten minutes, I had the urge to puke; I did, and I thought I would feel so much better, but I was wrong, I still felt bad, I wanted to go to sleep and just sleep my day away, but it wasn’t even 5am yet, so I knew that I couldn’t do that. I knew I had to get work done. I sat down for a few minutes and rested, because I knew I couldn’t push my body over it’s limit. I was already clearly putting my body through so much. I took that few minutes to breathe and tell myself, it is okay to feel terrible, but it is never okay to give up. I knew that I had to face this struggle of feeling bad and get back to work. I knew that I was going to smile and at least get in four more hours of work before I decided to take a nap.

After being up for a long time, and only functioning on caffeine, I knew that my body truly needed to rest, and I shouldn’t try to overdo it, because it was showing me my limit, and that I was exceeding it. I was exhausted and had far too much caffeine in 24 hours. I needed to rest my body, and drink lots and lots of water. Honestly it felt as if at any given moment that my body was just going to give out on me due to the exhaustion, and too much caffeine. I didn’t know if I was going to be okay to make it through the morning, but I knew that I was going to try and make it just a few more hours, because of the things that needed to be done. I also knew that I still needed to make sure to keep my body in check, which meant that I was going to read how it felt too, not just my mind, I knew I was going to just listen to my mind due to having so much caffeine, I needed to make sure that my body wasn’t feeling too exhausted that it would give out on me while trying to work.

I knew that trying to feel better meant drinking a lot of water and resting while working whether that just meant fixing a few errors in the groups instead of trying to do everything at once or lying-in bed and working since I would be resting. Soon the working lying in bed was no longer an option due to my son wanting to lay in my bed, which is perfectly fine, it is completely harmless, I honestly enjoy the times he still wants to lay in my bed, since he doesn’t do it very often. So, the last option became what I was doing, fixing minor errors in all my groups but I found that exhausting for my body to, the back and forth between two or three screens, and all the typing, but I was going to do it, and get it done. I wasn’t listening to my body though; it was getting exhausted majorly.

I knew just then what I had to do, and that was take a few minutes and rest, not doing anything because if I did something that was too much for my body then I would be throwing up again, and I did not want that due to it truly sucking.

I am truly just saying listen to your body, it will tell you what it can and cannot handle, and if you over do it, it will tell you. It is going to suck not being able to achieve all that you want to, or maybe it feels like you cannot achieve all you want to because your body is exhausted, but maybe if you just take a few minutes to rest before trying to put your body through all that you want to before you rest, maybe just maybe you will get all you want to done, and so much more! You just have to learn to pace yourself, and listen to your body!

Workplace
1

About the Creator

Audrey DeLong

I'm just a young mom that is living her best life, trying to make it through every obstacle without giving up no matter how tough each situation gets that I come to face. Telling stories, living life, and working hard. Don't give up ever.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.