Confessions logo

Letters Never Sent- Vol 4

Kelly

By Bill ArrowoodPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
"Campus mail only" by davekellam is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

February 29, 1992

Dear Kelly,

I hope you don’t mind getting letters in Campus Mail from guys you don’t know very well.

I am sure, because of how pretty you are you get lots of guys trying to ask you out and stuff. But I am a little shy about talking to girls in person, so I thought I would give this a try. I didn't used to be, I used to talk to girls all the time, not like a smooth operator, or anything, just like a regular operator, I guess, but last year I had an accident with an occilating fan, (it's a long story), and every since then, well like i said its a long story.

But you see, its because today is Leap Day that I figured I had nothing to lose, if I totally embarrass myself, by sending this to you, and you laugh at me, or worse yet just ignore me, (nothing I’m not used to) I won't have to be reminded of the anniversary of this day for at least 4 years, and by then we’ll either be getting married (just kidding, ha ha) or won't have thought of each other in years. So it’s a perfect day to ask you out.

I work as an usher at the movie theatre in the mall and I get free popcorn and if it's not too busy, my boss lets me sneak in for free. We have been showing “Wayne’s World” for two weeks and the crowds are down enough, that if you haven’t seen it, we could sneak in for free. If not, I can pay for us to see “Stop or My Mom will Shoot!”, I heard it was really funny, or we can see something serious like that new Richard Gere movie, its got Uma Thurman too, so there is something for both of us to look at.

But I guess that’s getting way ahead of myself.

You may not even remember me, but last month, when you were in the chorus at the talent spotlight, I was the one who was running the sound board, and I had to adjust your mic. Well you said thanks to me and that was the first time anyone on stage actually acknowledged me as the sound guy and it made me feel like I was on stage too.

Not that long ago I thought I really wanted to be in the theatre, but then I hit puberty and they said I had a face for radio, so that is where I ended up. But you sang that song really great and everyone loved it.

So I have been wanted to get up the nerve to ask you out for a while, but was very nervous, since you always have a bunch of friends around.

So I came up with this idea.

I realize that it’s already Saturday night and you might already have plans, but if not, I hope you might want to go out and stuff...

Maybe, I can show you how the sound board and the Dolby stereo works. I heard if you turn it up really loud and sit on the speaker it can make your clothes fly off. (that's what the assistant projectionist at work said). It's pretty cool, if you are into that sort of thing.

So if you are, I am box # 126, (not really, it would be really cramped in there, haha!)

henry

ps.. Just in case, if you don’t want to, please just say no thanks, rather than ignoring me, I’ve spent a lot of time being ignored and I promise you, being rejected is better than not being sure if people know you exist.

Embarrassment
1

About the Creator

Bill Arrowood

a collection of old letters & journals of a once promising novelist, presented to purge an adolescence that lasted perhaps too long, enjoy these bits.. and if you never got one of these letters, but you could've, feel free to answer back.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.