Confessions logo

Late Summer in Paris

My Favorite Season

By Karolyn Denson LandrieuxPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Late Summer in Paris

There are a lot of reasons why I love Paris. It’s a beautiful city. There are the obvious ones that everyone knows about. The architecture, art, culture and food are always the things that standout in most people’s minds. Paris is the city of lights. It is romantic and charming. This time of year is one of my favorites. It’s still warm and sunny during the day but cooler and breezy in the evenings. Not quite sweater weather but quickly heading in that direction. There are a fewer tourists wondering about. Thankfully! Tourist summers here are very unpleasant. As a tourist I would avoid summertime in Europe, especially Paris. Paris always has tourists though, always! It doesn’t matter what the season is. However, for the most part most of them have left by now to prepare for the return to school and work. The streets are a lot more quiet. Many of the shops are empty; their owners still enjoying their holidays wherever they are. I love it here this time of year.

The other evening I decided to meet Pierre at the metro stop as he returned from a visit to his hometown just outside of Paris to see friends and family. It was just about dusk. The sun already had begun to set. I ordered pizzas from the place we like on the corner of our street for dinner, then strolled around our neighborhood before heading to the St. Paul metro stop. The cafes and restaurants were buzzing and busy but not overwhelming so. People casually enjoying their meals and drinks in the warm summer twilight. There was soft conversations and laughter. This is another part of Paris that I love. After I completed my short stroll, I stopped under a decorative lamppost just in front of the now closed carousel, and waited for Pierre’s metro to arrive. I was a bit early so I had time to observe what was happening around me. People watching in Paris brings me joy. I watched as several people meandered about looking as if they were waiting for someone too. There was a well dressed person of ambiguous gender. They were pacing nervously around glancing often at their watch to check the time. I wondered if they were having a first date or if it was a lover or dear friend that they were going to meet. There were a couple of young ladies there. One dressed in all white and another of full contrast dressed in all black. The one dressed in black looked confident and self assured as she tossed her long hair and smiled into her mobile phone. The one in white stood dead still. She looked nervous and unsure. Her eyes stared blankly in front of her as if she was waiting to be frightened or surprised. She had the horrible look of unsure anticipation. Seated on the carousel platform was another young lady. She was taking puffs of her e-cigarette while scrolling through her phone. I wasn’t sure if she was waiting for anyone or just relaxing before moving on to somewhere else. Pierre messaged me that he was two stops away. I waited. I observed. The young lady in black found her friend. They crossed the street and grabbed a seat at the cafe there. I assume catching up on each other’s lives. A train arrived. I watched the various people spill out of the exits and entrances onto the street. I knew Pierre wouldn’t be in this group it was to soon. I watched the people that were still waiting grow increasingly anxious as the riders appeared. Neither of them found their partners though. I was sad for them as I watched the disappointment cross their faces. At least I knew for certain that my date was going to show up!

Paris is definitely a social city. It’s a place where I spend as much time outside as I can. It’s a city to meet with people. New York is like that for me too. The apartments and living arrangements are often small, usually without any or very limited outdoor spaces. We have plenty of large windows and skylights in our apartment, so we are fortunate for the sunlight, but our place isn’t very large. It’s a city loft apartment. Fortunately, Paris is full of green spaces, parks, walking streets, cafes and restaurants that have outdoor seating so that it’s not completely confining. We take advantage of all of it. I imagine though, if you don't have a social network that it can be a very lonely place to try to exist. I’m thankful that my Delta family visit here often on layovers and vacations.

I hope that the people that I spent a few minutes with the other night met whomever it is that they were waiting for to arrive.I hope that they had a blissful evening, with or without them.

As Pierre arrived on the next train we strolled arm in arm to pick up our pizzas then walked home and ate them together while catching a movie on our sofa.

Alas…Paris is such a beautiful city.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Karolyn Denson Landrieux

Karolyn lives in Paris and Pittsburgh. She loves travel and has travelled most of the world, she enjoys time at home with family. Whether it's cooking, painting, designing or writing, creativity is her passion. @karolynd88 @maxineandbeanie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.