Confessions logo

Keep The Good Times Rolling

Things That Put A Smile On My Face

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
6
be Happy

Introduction

I was not sure what to write about. Recently things have not been good and I have lost a lot of Vocal friends.

I’m also feeling that I will never get another Vocal Top Story with whatever the new method of determining them is, and that brings me a little down as I do put a lot of work into promoting Vocal and some of the Facebook groups with zero acknowledgement, but that is just my perception as I am a total attention whore.

The thing is while this is very upsetting I won’t let it stop me from writing and finding things to be positive about. This intro was going to be a lot more detailed, but I looked at it and thought that is far too depressing and I wanted this to be a positive post so that others could see that good things can always be found.

The friends I have lost, I leave the door open for them, because I really do treasure friendship.

So I am going to just list some things that put a smile on my face and hope that you can find some sunshine in the words I write. I suppose this could have been a poem, but my last two Vocal stories have been poems so really this needs to be a full article.

So what inspires me and what puts a smile on my face?

Friendship

I love chatting with friends, sharing things with them, getting ideas from them, getting praised, encouraged and loved by them. In the Facebook Vocal Groups the love and encouragement I get is the real reason that I keep creating stories. I am sad that two groups I loved have effectively blocked me, but the ones I am active in are absolutely wonderful, very positive and still growing.

Friends are absolutely the best thing.

Weather

I love sunshine, I love rain. Maybe high winds and grey days are not very inspiring, but I love rain when you are safe inside, and sunshine is a joy to walk in and feel on your skin. I also love snow as well until it turns to slush or solid ice, but snow is lovely too, although I suppose it is almost synonymous with Christmas.

Reading Books

I love reading because it can take you into a completely different universe for however long you are within those pages. It also gives me ideas to write my short stories. I am just in “The Oak and the Ram” by Michael Moorcock and I am tempted to write a story about The Cold Folk but that would have to be too close to the Moorcock and Celtic original so I am using this article to push that temptation away, although it may come back.

A book can take you places that you never could imagine.

Listening To And Playing Music

Today I have been listening to Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark and The Oyster Band and have thoroughly enjoyed every second I have listened to. I listen to music when I go on my walks and that stimulates me to create stories and poems. My tastes are eclectic so what I listen to today will be completely different tomorrow.

I also make noise on guitar, mandolin, keyboard and stylophone and that I find very relaxing as well.

Walking And Photographing Cats.

I walk on a daily basis to keep myself fit and enjoying taking photographs of cats and sharing them on Instagram, this is something that always puts a smile on my face, inspires me and makes me feel good.

Conclusion

I hope that this has given you ideas, and the whiney bits didn’t put you off too much. I always try to be positive even in the face of adversity.

I hope you have a smile on your face

FriendshipSecrets
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Arun kumar barikabout a year ago

    Yes, that's true and dam true- "Friends are absolutely the best thing".

  • Out of the ones you've listed, I only lile reading and listening to music. But our taste in music are polar opposites, lol!

  • ThatWriterWoman2 years ago

    Absolutely it put a smile on my face! I love it when people talk about their passions!

  • I like how you took this opportunity to just highlight and focus on things you like and enjoy! Keep your head up :)

  • Music, books, and cats make me happy, too, not necessarily in that order. I wish I had more time for all of them!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Life can get frustrating at time, but you can only control you. Keep on keeping on.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.