Confessions logo

Karen Confidential

Iguana New York

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago 4 min read
2

Welcome to New York City where for the right price.. you can have anything you like!

I immediately think of the song by Pink Floyd.. Money, the things people do for money.

Iguana is located on 54th Street, New York City.

Not far from where I was a full fledged Karen over at the Park Central Hotel. One of the greatest temptations that town has got to offer is Happy Hour.

Although I was happy with my job as Assistant Front Office Manager, Diana Costas was suffering from major depression.

Let’s go back in time, the year was 2014 and I was a fairly new mom to Mia.

I should have been happy but I was not, I was not following my heart and it led to many years of depression.

Fortunately, I believe everything happens for a reason and I have no regrets of my past.

Sharing my story brings me joy and makes me feel the pain and sadness is being compensated for now as I’m being put in the position of helping others.

Most folks who suffer Depression live with some form of guilt.

My guilt was my past, I could not get over my dark past and I could not get over my beloved Ex.

So I became a pretender for some time, I pretended I was happy with life.

I thought I was happy because of my nice job and beautiful baby. Perhaps I was but I was not following my heart at that time.

Always follow you heart, your heart could never fail you... your brain could easily get clouded, not your heart.

It would take a baptism and several years of therapy to get me to follow my heart, my baby girl is my motivation.

Back in 2014-15, I was faking the funk. I was Karen Vasquez Paralegal and I was looking for a way out of my misery.

Failure to not follow your heart will cause you to fail in life, my life will teach this is true.

My relationship with my daughter’s father was a failure, from the jump as I was never attracted to him, though I prentended to be.

We got involved at the height of my Depression and today I am not sure of his motives towards me but I got knocked up fairly quickly and I tried to settle down with that? Fail..

That relationship was a mistake, my daughter is not. She’s my hero and I would do it again just to have all the sugar and spice that makes my Mia nice.

God never makes mistakes, people do. It would take a little girl that looks just like me to get me to do the right thing and I am proud of us every single day.

Back in 2014, I was living it up however. I’d put in my 10 hours of work at The Park Central and later on it was Salsa con Fuego over at Iguana NYC on 54th Street!

With whom did I Salsa? Or Lambada?

Karen got down and dirty, some might say he was a flame with no name.

He was a funny fellow that I happened to have worked with. Sadly we were involved with other people and we also did our thing.

Bad move Karen! No cheating scandals are allowed!

In reality I was looking for a way out of my misery. I felt like I was living a lie, two beautiful kids and Al Bundy in my home.

I was not happy and Al Bundy would not leave!

See ladies, be very careful with whom you lay with.. there are folks who think they could trap you with a kid. Not saying this was my situation but it certainly feels like that, given some events that have transpired since.

Ladies & Gents, never make the mistake of thinking a way out of a relationship is through cheating. Be an Adult and do not involve yourself in anything until you have been single for a while. Give yourself at least one year of wellness, dedicate it to you and if you have children to them as well.

Back in 2014, I’m having Al Bundy issues and I think getting my swerve on at Iguana NYC was a good idea?

Hey the place was fun, has several floors so you can salsa, reggaeton, gasolina. What ever you like.

Ultimately, that Flame with no name served his purpose. Al Bundy did get out of my home but it led to many years of me suffering Karmic Debt.. to this day.

I have learned a major lesson in life and that is to depend on no one but myself.

I am happy to have danced the night away with my Flame with no Name and I live with no regrets.

As of 2021, I depend on myself and I am quite proud of myself for knowing that I can take care of me.

By myself I have started a company and have written a book!

No intentions on having anymore Flames but I do intend on dancing the night away at Iguana NYC!

I’ll be hitting up some old stomping grounds to see how the Covid Pandemic has affected their business.

If you are in the NYC area, 240 W. 54th Street I encourage to check out Iguana NYC.

It’s Tex-Mex food, yummy! And great music on multi- levels so do bring your dancing shoes.

God bless New York!

Secrets
2

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.