Confessions logo

Basic Concepts of Healthcare Law

Berkeley College Edition

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Knowledge is power and I love to share what I have learned in my 40 years of roaming this earth. I enjoy learning about everything, you never know when these tools will become necessary. The more you know, the more you grow.

I have always been interested in law, as a child I always wanted to be a Lawyer when I grew up.

That was not in the cards for me. I’m quite happy with being who I am today, an Author & Writer.

Enjoy my notes from Berkeley College!

To prove negligence four legal elements must be proved;

A professional duty owed to the patient as determined by standard care, Breach of such duties, Injury caused by the breach, Proven causation between the action and the injury.

There are four types of damages considered; Economic damages are a fixed price based on a loss of an object, Non-economic damages are not fixed amount and include pain & suffering from the negligence, Compensatory damages include both economic and non-economic damages, Punitive damages which are uncommon are intended to punish the defendant.

(Pozgar 2014)

As a result of the recent mal-practice insurance crisis, more states have adopted statutory caps on the monetary damages that a plaintiff can recover in mal-practice claims.

Florida, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, North Carolina, and Texas have established non-economic damage policy is that of Texas which implemented a “ per-claimant $250,000 on non-economic damages in medical mal-practice cases against a physician or healthcare provider.

For a single institution, per-claimant $250,000 cap on non-economic damages and for multiple healthcare institutions on overall cap of $500,000 per-claimant for non-economic damages & no single institution can hook for more than $250,000 in non-economic damages per-claimant.

The best way to win in all cases regarding your health is to take better care of yourself.

Wellness matters and so do you! When you begin with the self, less frequent visits to the Doctor and longevity darling!

I am all about aging gracefully, 41 is rapidly approaching and I could not be more proud of myself and children.

For too many years I let Depression win, I nearly forgot I took classes at Berkeley College!

The purpose of sharing my notes, is because I know an education these days is very costly.

Consider this a cheat sheet!

My life will also teach that lack of knowledge, usually leads to lack of respect.

This is called ignorance and as of 2021, I can no longer engage in this behavior.

So much so that I have written a book and I am currently working on book number 2!

A traumatic life will make you or break you, my traumatic life made me..

Diana Costas the Motherfucking Mark!

How Spirituality Saved My Life is available now!

The Vibe Podcast is available everywhere! You will see my mug!

Upon the knowledge of my father’s murder, I absolutely decided to change my life for the better. Forever and a day proud I chose a positive lifestyle.

When deciding to sue anyone in any legal matter always remember to document and date everything.

In regards to medical conditions, accidents please seek medical care right away. You want as much documentation as possible should you need an attorney.

And remember, honesty is the absolute best policy.

Unfortunately, within this past year I have revealed a lot of unhandled trauma and my hopes in sharing my story is to teach that you can only truly win in this life with truth.

Always move in truth and you cannot fail, remember document and date everything.

My wish is to be best selling Author and I will not stop until this is done!

Wellness matters, in or out the courts. Looking out for your best interest matters, I hope that this piece is able to help others knowledge themselves in basic concepts of Law. Healthcare is most certainly part of wellness and I intend of sharing from every angle.

Today’s society normalizes trauma and demoralizes wellness and today I say..

Please stop!

Take care of yourself always!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.