Confessions logo

It's ok to be a failure

At least you're not a dick

By Kayleigh TaylorPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

If 30 years on this planet has taught me anything, it's how much of a failure I am. Don't get me wrong, I'm not looking for sympathy, reassurance or some form of compliment to lift my depressed state of mind, I'm just simply stating a very well known fact.

I'm a failure.

I have spent the best part of the last decade, convincing myself I am a real writer, that my passion for the art of words and my conviction in those words are enough to call myself a professional. Of course it's all bullshit and something only a small percentage of us could hope to actually achieve.

Sure, Vocal is an amazing platform to share your mind map of stories, ideas, poems and a little bullshit. I have used it to write my darkest secrets and my loneliest lows. My highest points and my funniest confessions. But, does that make me a writer? Well, maybe. But a professional writer? No.

My failings started when I left college. I dropped out of my A levels for the sake of a penis and a good spliff and for a couple of years, I didn't look back. I spent the best part of my days with a bunch of down and outs, talking smack and smoking...weed and I left the best part of my brain in high school, (I'm still just retrieving parts of it now).

I used to blame my failings on anything and everyone else. A bunch of dickheads that made me take drugs, made me drop out of school and made me give up on my career. But, the truth is, I was the failure.

I am the failure.

I had some success with writing when I was 10 years old. It started with a simple poem about being in a hot air balloon in the sky. Looking down at the world like they were 'Nothing but ants'. My nan read my poem and couldn't believe I had written it. My poet status began there and continued into my teen years.

I was a high achiever at school, I did everything I was supposed to do and I continued to write for fun at home. I won poet of the year for 3 years in a row until I was 14 and I even got invited to Las Vegas to collect an award, (Just a little brag geez).

But the failures soon began after meeting a certain ex. Now I am not going to go on about him, after all he has had all of the airtime I wish to give him. My failures are my own and I will own them without any claim to failure from him.

Fast forward 13 years, to a new relationship, a kid, an abundance of pets, stretchmarks and 10,000 dirty socks later and you land on yours truly. A 30 year old overweight, messy haired, big titty, athletically lazy, animal loving, unemployed, loveable failure. I write as often as I can but it never seems to be enough. I apply to 20 writing jobs a day, I freelance blog (occasionally) I start stories, I don't finish them, I publish shit novels and I crave self-worth. I secretly think I'm not good enough and yet I know deep down I am. I get praised and feel lied to and I get no acknowledgement and I call the world a bastard.

My conviction is often matched by my ability but the real reason for my failures are not because of my talent or lack of. No, I have simply come to understand the reason for my failures is due to my heart. I don't feel I deserve to succeed. The truth is, I made some decisions that have affected the way I think and the way I love now. And those decisions in short have lead to me questioning my worth.

I mean of course I'm fucking fabulous, fat arse and all but I'm not ignorant...I know where I have gone wrong.

I lost my drive to succeed, I lost my drive and replaced it with simple conviction. But what is conviction without backbone? What is talent without an audience to show it to? How can I walk a mile let alone a thousand if I take 1 step forward and pause for a turn while every other writer takes 2 steps forward?

The truth is, I'm only just learning how not to be a failure again. Through learning, work, writing and love. I gave up all of those things that took my drive away. And finally, I handed myself the wheel again. And slowly, I'm cementing myself firmly in the drivers seat. It's heavy, it's scary but strangely familiar.

So while I self pity, rebuild, cry, pull myself up and learn to self love again, I tell myself that It's ok to be a failure because at least I'm trying, at least I'm finally running with the rest of the marathon... even if I'm at the back.

And most importantly, at least I'm not a dickhead.

Thank you very much for reading my writing and taking the time to support my work. If you have enjoyed what you have read, I would appreciate the love. If you're feeling extra generous, how about a tip?

Bad habits
2

About the Creator

Kayleigh Taylor

Book, coffee and pet-obsessed writer who loves writing raw truths and fictional fantasies. I hope you enjoy.

Kayleigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.