Confessions logo

It's easy to be friends at first sight. It's hard to be friends at first sight.

23/5000 "Do you ever feel like we're not as good as we used to be? "

By Uefa CalvinPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

My boyfriend asked me this while I was sprawled on the sofa, eating snacks and watching TV.

The moment I heard this, I almost choked.

The next second.

He sat up straight and counted the proof that I didn't love him enough.

In the early days of our relationship, I called him at least three times a day to tell him where he was going, what he was doing, and who he was with.

When he returned home, he would tell him exactly what time it was, and he would be reproached for exceeding time.

Even because he occasionally spoke loudly to me, and he sulked for a long time.

By the 163rd day, the high spirits had faded, the frequency of displays of affection began to decline, and even the hysterical arguments became a thing of the past.

In his view, not only is love demoting, but so is sweetness and sadness.

Aware of my boyfriend's doubts, I began to think seriously about our relationship.

But I found that, in fact, our love has never changed or dissipated, the concentration is increasing.

If there was a downgrade, it was only in our distrust of each other, and our understanding and understanding continued to grow.

I'm not going to spend the day wondering whether he loves me or not because he unconsciously hides it in the takeout menu, the vegetables and the meals.

I no longer haggle over every ounce, not because midnight time did not say happy New Year, valentine's Day did not prepare gifts in advance on the mouth shut break up.

On day 163, I learned that the best kind of love is to make each other better at being themselves.

Just like when I first fell in love, I would spend two to three hours every time I met with someone to make myself look perfect, down to the curl of my eyelashes and the arc of my mouth.

But now, I can eat in front of him without any image, I can ask him if I look good without makeup, I can face him in the most comfortable position instead of being careful to look perfect.

Because I know that even if I am not perfect, he will love me just the way I am.

With love and trust, I feel free to be myself in this relationship and allow him to be his most authentic self.

In other words, in the process of loving each other, we gradually let down our guard and begin to be comfortable with each other.

I allow him to be a normal person, to make mistakes, to be imperfect, to be careless when he doesn't care about me, and he doesn't have to be a superman or a hero who saves the world.

Therefore, I will replace suspicion with trust, will replace those immature, hysterical arguments with tolerance and understanding,

and no longer dream of proving his love to me by constantly showing affection.

In the same way, I wanted him to accept me as less beautiful, less self-possessed.

I can be tired, hiding in his side of small temper, spoiled, rather than pretend to be strong;

I could have asked him to help me cook a meal or pick up a delivery when I wasn't feeling well, instead of pretending to be competent.

I can also ask him for help when I accidentally lose something, instead of being afraid to expose my careless shortcomings, I choose to keep it in my heart or solve it alone.

I can make sure that our relationship is growing as it goes from "trying to be the perfect person" to "being the most comfortable.

The concentration of love is like the incense of locust flying in summer. Even if you do not breathe hard, you can smell the faint fragrance.

If love is a visual line, it should be a fluctuating line, not an upward or downward line.

There will be arguments and trials, but with love comes trust and understanding.

As the saying goes, "Love is like skiing, the first step is not to sprint but to brake, first learn to control, then love well. "

So I know I'm in love with the right person when I can be soft, gentle and comfortable in the face of intense emotions.

When he is worried about whether our feelings are fading, but he still tries his best to love me with all he has, I know he has already regarded me as his only one.

So, while he might think it was day 163 of our downward spiral, I think it was day one of our downward spiral.

If you can, I hope we can keep just the right concentration, love forever.

Clicking "WATCHING" is more important than "I love you" is "I want to be with you".

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Uefa Calvin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.