Confessions logo

Is being introvert bad ??

me as an introvert

By Yug AcharyaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
random pic from google

For as long as I could remember, now I've always found comfort in my time alone. In fact this is where I want to spend more of my time, Actually it's a place where I feel like I come alive . Unfortunately if you were to look up the word introvert, you would see a definition of a shy reticent person. To be honest I don't think this is a very accurate description of what a introvert is...

I think a lot of people get the wrong idea of what a introvert is. Nowadays they're often associated with being socially awkward ,boring, shy, quiet ,lonely people and truth is I don't really think that's the case. I think it's a lot more complex than that and sure because your introvert , it can lead to those things but personally, I know a lot of introverted people myself or none of those things. Now I can only speak for myself and through my own experiences but personally ,I don't think I'm a socially awkward person. I'm not shy, I'm not quiet, I can't speak to people, I don't have a problem speaking with people you know in fact I actually really enjoy ..,you know human interaction. I love communicating with other people. you can learn a great deal of knowledge off of just one conversation and thinking about it ,I think the whole reason why I'm doing this in the first place

I think there's a important difference between being alone and actually feeling alone. There are times when I'm hanging out with a group of people and I feel alone. The worst thing in life is to end up with people who make you feel alone as someone who has to spend most of the time alone. I think it's of even more important that I try to spend some time with others. In fact every time. I do....., . I really cherish those moments but it's not like I could just hang out with anybody. I think there's a few things, I try to look for in people things that I can align with one is, do they have good character ?? You know Is this someone I can trust ? , Are they honest people ?. Second is is this someone I can respect this is someone who will inspire me who will motivate me to become a better person and third is can I learn from this person? Are they adding value to my life ? and in return am I giving value to their life ?

As I grow I'm starting to really value my time. I realize that I don't have all the time in the world and I'm a big believer. In the people you surround yourself with ,will really have a big impact on your life .So the fact is that I just can't keep up with everybody and it's not only that, I actually do start to feel mentally and physically exhausted after spending a lot of time with people. You know even with my close friends. I even struggle to stay in touch with a lot of people and I think it just becomes overwhelming for me and I think only through spending time alone am i able to recharge. So this was a misconception that I had for the longest time. you know I thought that you can only be considered a introvert or extrovert which in reality if you think about it that's kind of just impossible .

How my brain works and how I operate best has always been a very interesting and important journey for me. Actually I want to learn where I draw my energy from, I want to learn where I feel most myself and I think being alone allows you to almost drop that social guard giving you the freedom to think for yourself to essentially make better decisions. Often times we are swayed by the thoughts of others their feelings, attitudes ,beliefs and behaviors whether we like it or not so, being alone feels like a place where there is no judgment. There is no opinions about me from other people.I feel like I can express myself more freely. I can move around without any barriers or any walls blocking me. I can explore deeper and deeper into my creativity no matter how weird it is. I just think it comes out in a different form when I spend time alone I wanted to write this because I feel like ,we introverts have a pretty bad reputation for being socially awkward boring ,shy, lonely, people.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Yug Acharya

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.