Confessions logo

Inflatable Pink Flamingos

Stories from the .Ai

By Brett RothenbergPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Inflatable Pink Flamingos
Photo by Edgar on Unsplash

I never thought my life would come to this. But here I am, sitting in my living room surrounded by inflatable animals and pool toys. It all started innocently enough. I was at a friend's pool party and they had an inflatable swan floating in the water. I couldn't help but feel a little envious of the swan, gliding effortlessly across the water. I had to have one for myself.

So, I ordered an inflatable swan online and waited anxiously for it to arrive. When it did, I inflated it immediately and jumped into the pool with it. It was like nothing I had ever experienced before. I felt weightless and free, gliding across the water with my new inflatable companion.

But, as with all things, the novelty wore off. I needed more. I ordered more inflatables - a flamingo, a unicorn, a giant inflatable hamburger. I couldn't get enough. I started taking them to the beach, to the lake, even to the local pool. People would stare at me, confused by my obsession with inflatables. But I didn't care. I was addicted.

I started to spend all my free time and money on inflatables. I would spend hours browsing online for the newest and most unique inflatables. My friends and family would ask me why I was spending so much time and money on these toys, but I couldn't explain it to them. I was addicted, and I couldn't stop.

As my inflatable collection grew, so did my problems. I was constantly inflating and deflating them, patching up leaks and replacing valves. I would often wake up in the middle of the night to find one of my inflatables had deflated, and I would have to quickly inflate it again before it could be seen. I was so obsessed that I even started to neglect my job, my friends and my family.

My friends and family began to worry about me. They tried to intervene, but I couldn't let go of my inflatable addiction. I would get angry and defensive when they would try to talk to me about it. I was in deep and I couldn't see a way out.

One day, I was at the beach, floating on my inflatable unicorn when a huge wave came and smashed into me. The inflatable unicorn was ripped to shreds and I was thrown into the water. I was drowning and was rescued by the lifeguard on duty. It was then that I realized, that I had a serious problem and I needed help.

I sought help and joined a support group for inflatable addicts. It was there that I met others like me, people who had lost everything to their inflatable addiction. We shared our stories and helped each other through the tough times.

With the support of my new friends, I was able to kick my inflatable addiction. I got rid of all my inflatables and focused on rebuilding my life. It wasn't easy, but it was worth it. I reconnected with my friends and family and got my job back. I was able to start living a normal life again.

But it wasn't all sunshine and rainbows, I still had the occasional urge to buy an inflatable. It's like any addiction, it never truly goes away. But now I know how to cope with it and I am able to resist the temptation.

Looking back, I can't believe that my life was consumed by inflatables. It's crazy to think that something as simple as a toy could take over my life like that. But I am grateful for the experience.

Datingcelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.