Confessions logo

In the Face of Adversity: My Mother's Dragon-like Resolve

How she inspired me to live with courage, humour and compassion

By C C FarleyPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
4
In the Face of Adversity: My Mother's Dragon-like Resolve
Photo by Adam Nemeroff on Unsplash

My mom was born during a time in the 1920's that was rough for Chinese people in Vancouver. There was significant racism and discrimination, and often Chinese immigrants were relegated to jobs that were manual or focused on the service industry. This was my mom's situation at the time.

She was born the daughter of a hard-working grocery store owner and a homemaker. Somehow, through perseverance and savings, my grandfather managed to scrape together enough money to open a corner store in a busy residential neighbourhood on the west end of Vancouver.

My mom and her sisters attended regular school and graduated without specific career plans. She told me that in those days, girls were expected to get married, and she obeyed my grandfather.

Throughout her life, my mom experienced many challenges, which included having to put up with my controlling and entrepreneurial father. Over the years, she also raised four spirited daughters, while navigating the constant duties of a grocer.

Over the years, my mother channelled qualities that I can only say embody the acronym: KIND. This story aims to showcase the many attributes my mother encouraged me to live by and in so doing, she battled against the everyday challenges with the resilience of the mighty, and mythological dragon.

K: Kind-hearted Towards Cats

My mom was quite the character. At times, she would throw out witty barbs from old Jimmy Cagney movies like " You mugs want something to eat?" Other times, she would become quiet and philosophical, and say words like, "Are you a good soul?"

Ever since I was a little girl, my mother introduced me to the grace and loyalty of cats.

My mother showered her cats with all kinds of treats, including pan-fried liver, canned tuna, and sardines. At 7 years old, I cradled a black and white tabby cat named Mooty in my arms, and I continue to hold a lifelong love for my crazy fur babies.

My mother taught me that life is so much better with cats because I suppose, they embodied the same gentleness and loving kindness as my mom.

I: Inspirational

As children, my siblings and I faced a lot of racism growing up in the mostly white community of New Westminster, BC, a suburb of Vancouver. Not a day went by without hearing name-calling from some kids who used derogatory racist terms like "Chinamen" or told us to "Go Back to China."

One day, when my mother heard that we were being bullied on the way to school, she told the principal, who promptly brought my siblings and me to his office.

My mother taught me suffering in silence was not always the correct way to fight back against injustice. One day I heard her rebuke a young man after he called out some racial epithets. She asked him what he had ever done for society, causing him to put his head down and slink away. Her remarks caused me to think about how we all owe it to humanity to somehow put some goodness on this planet before our times are up.

N: Nurturing and Caring Nature

My mother always had time for everyone. Before the proliferation of convenience stores selling fast food like fried chicken and hotdogs, an older woman walked into the grocery store and watched longingly at the hotdog we were eating. She spoke of her hunger and in a moment, my mom had rushed upstairs, away from the register, to make a hot dog for this lady.

She never tired of caring for wildlife as well. During one hot dry spell, a sparrow had fainted. My mom revived it with sips of water, and we all marvelled as it flew away. Another year, an oil-slicked cat ran into our property and my mom lovingly washed away the debris.

She taught me that all life is worth saving and that compassion toward wildlife is an essential part of being a human.

D: Devoted To Her Family

My mother was strongly devoted to her kids. Even years after we earned our own money with our jobs, she often gave us envelopes filled with cash and she wrote beautiful handwritten well-wishes on our birthday cards.

She sometimes gave encouraging words which were accompanied by words of wisdom. One day, when one of my family members needed encouragement to embark on a new career, she let out that she "is master of her ship" implying that she alone determines her destiny.

Even though my mom is living with dementia, I have never heard her utter any complaints --even when she could speak.

She taught us to face challenges head-on; do the best we can and make the most of the time we have on earth. And I might add: always have a ready quip.

At 97 years old, my mom and my cat rescue, Marcia Photo 2023

Family
4

About the Creator

C C Farley

I loved reading at an early age. Writing is also a passion and I love writing, reading, and spending time with my pets.

I also love photography, independent film making, travel and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga2 months ago

    This lovely homage to your mother serves as a sad reminder of the deep influence that family has on molding our lives, as it brilliantly captures her perseverance and everlasting love.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.