Confessions logo

I'm Realizing I May Have Never Really Grown Up

10 fun (ish) facts about me

By Alivia VarvelPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - September 2023
29
It's me!

Fair warning, I am not an interesting person by any means. I usually struggle to come up with fun facts about myself whenever I'm introducing myself to a new group of people. But, I thought this was a fun prompt and hope it will help me with having some fun facts in my back pocket for the future.

1. If there's one and only one thing others should know about me, it's that I love The Lord of the Rings. I honestly can't fully explain why, but from the ages of 7 to about 14, LOTR was my main hyperfixation. I still adore it even now, but I like to think I've toned it down a little. Although, I did purchase and build this large Lego set of Rivendell earlier this year...

Rivendell Lego set

2. I used to take my books to bed with me when I was little. Most kids have a favorite stuffed animal or some other toy they take with them everywhere, even to bed. But no, I was not like that. I genuinely don't even recall owning any stuffed animals. I had a load of Barbies later on, but when I was at that age of having that favorite something I lugged everywhere, it was books.

Tiny me with a book

3. My day job is in the intelligence field. And that's all you're getting about that.

4. You can catch me with a Dr. Pepper in my hand everyday. And before anyone says anything, I drink a ton of water. I think I go through four refills of my water bottle everyday. But Dr. Pepper is usually my afternoon pick-me-up. Side-note: why does Dr. Pepper have an almost literal fanbase? Like, what other drink has inspired that? What is it about the Pep? I digress.

5. I've played the piano since I was 5 years old. My relationship with music itself will be another point; I think this deserves its own. I took piano lessons for years and years until I got to high school and became too busy with sports, namely volleyball. Playing the piano still remained a nice hobby, and it still brings me a lot of joy to play.

6. I am tall. I feel the need to include this in the list because it throws so many people off guard for some reason. So there ya go. I'm 5'11".

7. Music is everything to me. It weaves through every part of my life. I even made a playlist of my life on here recently for Vocal's Melodic Milestone Playlist Challenge. It was so cool to look back on my life and the music that has shaped it so far. Speaking of playlists, the number of playlists I have curated for specific occasions and moods is getting out of hand. I'll share one of them with you here. This is my inspiration playlist for my story "The Spark that Started a Wildfire." Some of the songs are in there for the lyrics; some of them are there because I find the sound inspiring and not necessarily what they're saying. But if you've been following the story as I've posted it here, you may enjoy taking a peek at some of these songs. (Yes, I use Apple Music and not Spotify. Please do not come for me.)

8. I practically live on YouTube. I really don't watch TV that much anymore, both cable TV and shows on streaming services. But alas, I am a child of the internet and spend a lot of my free time watching videos on some of my favorite YouTube channels. Here's a few of my current favorites: Good Mythical Morning, Smosh (and all their side channels), and last but not least, Markiplier. I think I've been subscribed to Markiplier's channel for 9 years now. That's wild to think about. I remember I used to come home from school when I was in high school, and I would grab my snack and open YouTube to watch Markiplier. That was back when he was posting two videos every single day. And now, here I am - 26 years old and still loving his play throughs of spooky video games. Like I said, I'm a child of the internet.

9. Quick one for second to last of this list: I have an ungodly number of pairs of shoes. I love shoes, okay?

10. I really...don't read that much. I realize that's a bit weird for a writer, but I honestly don't. I don't know what happened to me. As I mentioned earlier, I loved books a lot as a kid. But somewhere along the way, I stopped tearing through books the way I used to. However, I do want to shoutout an author who's books I did tear through recently. I discovered Grady Hendrix back in 2020 with his book The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires. I read that book so fast, faster than I had read anything in a long time. Ever since then, whenever he has a new release, I immediately snatch it up and devour it. For all you horror fans out there, I can't recommend them enough.

Grady Hendrix books (the very few books I've read in the last 3 years)

***

This was written for Kayleigh Fraser's Get to Know Me challenge:

SecretsHumanity
29

About the Creator

Alivia Varvel

time is the most precious commodity

https://www.aliviavarvel.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Read mine? Also about memories? https://vocal.media/fiction/a-lusty-story

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    Lotr was amazing. Had so many good lessons in it too

  • Test8 months ago

    It seems you are much more interesting than you think you are .... which is a good thing and probably much better than the opposite, LOL. I love your lively "voice" in your writing. Very captivating, and I'm sure it's not just the Pep💙Anneliese

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Oh, well done on this. After subscribing after the Mother Combs challenge entry, this was a great way to get to know you better. Noticing a lot of things in common - LOTR, music and the fact that I really should read more than I do. Well, other than Vocal stuff. Congrats on this getting Top Story too! Fab read!

  • Brenda Bertucci8 months ago

    Awesome job! Congrats and I will look up this fella on Youtube and the books too! I am learning so much since I joined this site. I love it. Who knows..maybe one day I can write an amazing story for ya'll. lol

  • Congratulations Alivia!!! Well deserved 🕊️✨❤️❤️✨

  • Michael Stephens8 months ago

    Hi everyone! My name is Michael. I really enjoyed this story! I am a new vocal storywriter. Please check my stories and be sure to rate them in the comments section so i can improve in anything. Hope you nothing but greatness. Big thanks to you in advance! https://vocal.media/authors/michael-stephens

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    I loved learning more about you! Funny how reading kind of goes on the back burner after a while. I was also an avid bookworm as a kid, and it's kind of just gone away... It's got me thinking... especially after seeing Suze's comment... Maybe a bunch of creators should band together and start a Vocal book club? Just a thought. Now, I'm insanely curious about your day job...

  • Joseph Njeru 8 months ago

    I too love YouTube since I find it educational and entertaining

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    I'm trying to respark my love of reading - like you, I was a voracious reader as a kid and I'm trying desperately to get back into the swing of it. Some books catch me, others don't. Love Grady Hendrix so much! T. Kingfisher is an author of a similar vein that I've really been enjoying recently. If you're looking for reading recommendations, I loved "The Twisted Ones" and "A House With Good Bones."

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I could never build a Lego set like that. Im impressed 😂 And taking books to bed is SO cute, I was the same way

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I want to play with your lego.

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    That lego set is so cool! I've never totally read the books, yet the film franchise will always have a special place in my heart.

  • Delise Fantome8 months ago

    I too have a huge love for LOTR, and the most recent books I tore through were part of stem series from Ali Hazelwood. Loved your story, 10 facts seem so little but they can tell so much!

  • Jessica Bailey8 months ago

    This is so heartfelt and sweet, gives a real flavour of you, too. Thank you for sharing!

  • Li Ma8 months ago

    Enjoyable writing!!

  • Awww, tiny you is so adorable! Like how you're obsessed with LOTR, I'm with Harry Potter, lol! I loveeeeee your Lego! The only Youtuber I know from the ones you've mentioned is Markiplier! But I've only watched a few videos of him. I enjoyed getting to know you better!

  • I loved reading this ❤️✨ I couldn’t disagree more with your opening statement! If you don’t think you are interesting? You are in the wrong company 😉 Every single thing about you is interesting! 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.