Confessions logo

I just want eggs

A grocery store trip

By vPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I just want eggs
Photo by Franki Chamaki on Unsplash

I have no groceries. Who keeps a full fridge these days anyways? Food can go bad so quickly. I end up throwing half of the stuff I buy anyways. But I have nothing right now. I need to get eggs. Some turkey, maybe a chocolate bar.

We don't have to wear masks anymore, right? Should I carry it, just in case? I walk to the front doors - where they have the new CDC guidelines posted.

"Fully vaccinated people can resume activities without wearing a mask or physically distancing, except where required by federal, state, local, tribal, or territorial laws, rules, and regulations, including local business and workplace guidance."

Okay, so I don't see the same sign that required us to weak masks, before. This means I don't have to wear a mask, right? I have it in my hand just in case. I hate wearing the masks, never liked it, but I always made sure to wear it...we were living in a pandemic. But now? Are we still in a pandemic? We can't live like this forever.

Okay, I walk in without a mask. I make eye contact with a worker by self- checkout. She's wearing a mask. She smiles, I think? Or squints? See, this is another reason to not like masks. I keep walking, she didn't stop me.

Okay, what am I looking for? Eggs. Okay, I see some people not wearing masks, but the workers are. Some people are wearing masks. Why do I feel as if everyone's looking at me? Did the masks offer a sense of security? People could never see if I had a booger hanging in my nose. Masks also hid those huge pimples that seem to take up half my face when it's *that time of the month*. No one else seems to be having a crisis over this mask thing. People look so confident in their choices. I wonder what's that like.

Just get eggs and get out of here.

Okay, got the eggs. Back to the front of the store. Now it seems like all I see are people wearing masks. Don't make eye contact just go to self-checkout. Okay at self-checkout. Oh damn, I forgot turkey. And you know you're going to want something sweet later. That's okay. This is weird. Just grab the chocolate by the register and forget the turkey. Ugh, they don't have Hershey's. You'll have to make do with Almond Joy.

Actually. I stop. I’m already here and I feel ridiculous. I know I’m fine without wearing a mask, I know what the new CDC guidance says. It’s just weird seeing people wear their masks. Do THEY know the new CDC guidance? There’s been some people not wearing masks in this area throughout the pandemic...it’s rare but not uncommon. Maybe they think I’m just one of those people that doesn’t care.

I take a deep breath. Imagine a time when this wasn’t an issue. When not wearing masks was the norm for a lot of us. I think back about a conversation from earlier with co-workers about masks, “I don’t think I’m going to stop wearing masks on an airplane. Or even at the grocery store near the fruits and veggies.” I honestly didn’t even think about that, but now that my co-worker points that out, I wonder if that’s a good idea.

What are the norms of social convention now that we're heading out of this pandemic. Someone should write a guide.

I start walking out. "Have a great day," says the lady near the registers. I jump and turn around - "Oh, yeah you too". I grab my eggs and chocolate and start running out of there.

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

v

always looking for the right words to say

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.