Confessions logo

I Have a Journalism Degree but I'm Not A Journalist

We don’t always use our degrees in the way we expect, and sometimes we pick up a couple of new tricks along the way.

By Maggie Elizabeth Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2022
22
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

After getting my bachelor’s degree in journalism from a top university in Texas and attempting twice to get a master’s in journalism from two different schools, I have learned one important thing.

I don’t want to be a journalist.

Well, I guess I learned more than just one thing. A funny thing I’ve realized about learning lessons is that it’s rarely ever easy. Sometimes something dramatic has to happen to knock us off our current path before we can stagger to our feet and try again. For me, that something is my mental health.

I was first diagnosed with anxiety and depression when I was nineteen years old, between my freshman and sophomore years of college. That diagnosis changed my life. It changed my outlook, attitudes, and perspectives. It changed me.

However, I stuck with my journalism degree from freshman to senior year. I loved my hands-on courses. I loved my professors. I loved storytelling through photography and the written word. I was going to become an editor of my own magazine someday.

I was told that finding a job after college and navigating the career market in my field would be hard. They weren’t kidding. After struggling for months and chasing opportunity after opportunity, I became discouraged.

Then someone took a chance on me. A local entrepreneurial consultant saw a struggling but determined woman in her early twenties and asked me to be his assistant. I was apprehensive. I’d been trained as a journalist and knew nothing about administration. But this man picked me. He could have had any smart student from the local college. But he chose me. And so I accepted. This astounds me to this day.

Because of that chance, I discovered my knack for administrative work. It didn’t come easy. My broken brain was able to work with what I had to do the best that I could. My time management improved. I learned to ask questions. Most importantly, I started to gain confidence again. Both in myself and in my abilities.

Eventually, all good things must come to an end and my position was no exception. I attempted to work my way into retail and try grad school. Those years were hell on earth. To make a long story short, I encountered roadblock after roadblock and it took everything for my brain not to shatter into a million pieces. But I learned how to work with people. I learned the importance of swift accuracy. I learned patience.

But enough was enough. One mental breakdown at Chipotle later and I was done.

Last October, after a brief stint as a freelance writer and social media research intern, I was approached with a familiar offer. A dean at the local university reached out and asked me if I needed a job. The role? A full-time administrative assistant position. I was apprehensive and unsure once again. Full-time? I was used to part-time only. How could I sit in front of a computer all day?

I applied and interviewed. A week or so later, I got the call while eating at my favorite restaurant in town. I almost screamed, right there in front of everyone.

I was given another chance.

Everything has a learning curve. But the most important thing is to be willing to learn. To be willing to be taught. To be willing to listen.

I am not a journalist. But I’m still determined to write. I still want to take my storytelling skills and put them to use. I want to use everything I’ve learned to work with and help others, as well as push myself to be the best me I can be.

Yesterday I found out that I had been accepted into my college’s Master’s of Business Administration program. Once again, a chance to try something new. I start this summer.

The journey is all about learning. The journey is all about discovery. The only thing we can expect is that the journey is unexpected.

I am not a journalist. But that’s okay. I am still breathing and I still believe I have a purpose on this planet. And I’m on the journey to figuring that out.

School
22

About the Creator

Maggie Elizabeth

Introvert, noodle enthusiast, world traveler, and all-around nerd

She/Her

Find me on TikTok, Instagram, & Facebook @writeawaymaggie

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gene Lass8 months ago

    I can relate. I wasn't always sure I wanted to be a writer, but after reviewing all my options, and figuring out how long it would take me to follow my interests, and how I'd have to live as I pursued them, writer seemed to be the best choice. I love doing it, and it was a viable career path. Of course this was in the late 80s/early 90s, before Internet, when people still read newspapers ever day, there were large and thriving, and your average household probably subscribed to 1-2 magazine, a local paper, and at least one city paper, plus even mid-size cities often had 2 papers. By going into journalism, with a degree from a major university, I was assured it would be pretty easy to get a job. I got one, yes, but within 10 years the world of publishing and the world in general changed drastically and I had to adapt. But I already had to adapt in school. I switched majors from journalism to English because my advisor was in the early stages of senility, plus he was department chair, which made things a bit awkward. That ended up being a good move. Journalism majors were expected to be fast, succinct, and grammatically accurate. English majors were expected to be creative, and ironically, many of them couldn't spell to save their souls. The combination of the two gave me a distinct advantage. Then I landed an internship at a magazine, where I learned the skills that have carried me through the past 30 years. I'm still shocked at how few people can spell, or write a simple description of something. I'm surprised at how people can miss glaring errors in things they have written, or by the poor quality of what gets published today, clickbait being the worst of it. But being able to adapt, and learn over time to work with people, as you have, was invaluable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.