Confessions logo

I don't want to have kids or get married

And that's okay

By Amanda NicolePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I don't want to have kids or get married
Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

I need to begin this story by saying that I'm not bad mouthing anyone who has dreamed of getting married and having kids their whole lives. That's beautiful. Having kids is a selfless gesture and the most pure thing you can do. Giving up your life to raise another life is a beautiful thing. I admire those who do it. But honestly? It's not for me. I don't want it. I don't want kids or a wife or husband. I don't want to be pregnant. I don't want to make a nursery in anticipation of a little one arriving. I don't want any of that. Now to those that do, I admire you. I admire that your hearts desire is to raise another human and teach them all kinds of stuff. I admire that you want to see your kid go off to college and get married and all that. But that's not for me. I don't want to have kids. It's never been on my heart. I don't want a family of my own. At least a human family anyway. I would however love a fur family. I'd love to have a house full of dogs and cats. I'd love to let them play in my fenced in yard while I have breakfast. I'd love to snuggle with them during a thunderstorm or while watching a movie. I'd love to take my dogs on a hike or for a run. I'd love to go swimming with my dogs or camping with all my pets. That's my hearts desire. I don't want human kids. I will love each and every one of my pets the same way a mother loves her child. Unconditionally. I will love them so much and so hard. I will take joy in them and roll my eyes when they do something silly. I will mourn their death when it's time and grieve the loss for a while. I will never forget them. I will simply just try and move on. Now as far as marriage is concerned. I don't want to get married. That requires a level of closeness that I'm neither comfortable with nor ready for. All of my dating experiences have been negative or abusive. I don't believe I'll ever trust someone that deeply or love them that much ever again. I gave someone my heart and they broke it and abused it. I'm not doing that again. I don't want to pick out a wedding dress only to get hurt again potentially. I don't want to have a wedding party or a wedding. I don't want to give my life to someone. To those that do, I completely understand why you would want to do that. I'm not saying don't do it. I'm just saying it's not for me. I need to heal. I need to figure out who I am. I need to get control of my life, heart and emotions. I need to see the world. I need to learn how to be alone and how to support myself. I need to become stronger and less angry. I need to soften my heart. I need to understand what a healthy relationship is and how to treat people. I can't do that in a marriage. I can't expect someone else to wait for me either. That's not fair. I would end up hurting them as well. I need to learn to speak up. I need to learn how to be stronger in my convictions and stop thinking that all I do is mess up. I need to for all intents and purposes: heal.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole

Hey I'm Amanda! I'm a writer, Podcaster and a pet sitter. I'm much more then that! Read my stories to find out :)

https://linktr.ee/gilmorepretty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.