Confessions logo

I Am The Anti Vocal

For Now

By P. B. FriedmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Am The Anti Vocal
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Note to self: ( with all the credit due Norman McDonald ) unless or/and until someone pulls a Benjamin Franklin this is about all there is insofar as their childhood goal of gaining notoriety, etcetera through storytelling. There is probably, like every other philosophy ever invented something to say for/about the Power Of Positive Thinking. While this may not of itself have gotten somebody admittance to the University of Southern Mississippi...maybe it just about did. While I would avoid publicizing beyond a certain point the school's decades old claim of being among some top twenty or other in English Departments at least there was no poor mouthing going on.

There are probably worse things to draw on than being well versed in the Philadelphia sportswriter's publicity machine which cranked out enough positivity that gullible kids at least believed for a time in the city transforming itself into a city of winners. Is not summer a decent time for fictitiousness?

Like a lot of bloggers I have read advertisements suggesting that there is money to be made here at Vocal. I do not doubt this to be the case, I'm just not someone who's unlocked whatever secret formula exists that turns this trick. I do not come anywhere near to winning Challenge Contests, getting astronomical reads or even breaking even.

Vocal seems to present its users with a lot of potential frustration and /or confusion based upon what its social media groups are about. These regularly contain things that lead one to conclude that the site has perhaps problems associated with a relatively new service. I was going to try to produce some type of upbeat advertisement for the site and I just had over a hundred words erased due either to a Vocal malfunction or something to do with my computer. This is leading me to conclude that I won't be satisfied until I acquire a printer. A printer ought to, if anything will allow me to improve upon the quality of my writing if not eliminate Vocal and all other sites of this ilk altogether. At some point one has to conclude that this type of site provides temporary amusement but not long term prestige or even much interest due to its discriminatory practices, capriciousness, etcetera. It has all manner of arbitrary game show techniques designed to get amateur would be scribes to compete for what amounts to fictitious titles of ass kisser of the day/week/month ad nauseum.

To be more specific my paid membership has been paid up and is not due to expire for another week and a half. Yet I'm being denied one of the gimmicky fake perquisites known as the ability to quickly edit a so called published article/story. Here we go Justin, here we go boo bah de bump.

Previously, as I closed in on the rumored fifty dollar bonus range ( whereby one has successfully submitted fifty story/articles ) Vocal decided to quit accepting my submissions. Very impressive, Mr. Maury and all the others there with the collective sticks up the ass who masquerade as something similar to actual editors. In addition roughly thirty or more of my submissions were erased by some idiot savant who goes by the first name Sunny. So now presumably everything is sunny in and around the rumored armpit of the universe, Fort lee, New jersey ( maybe its only within sniffing distance, to paraphrase Stephen King...beats me ).

Understandably Vocal seemingly does briefly publish disclaimers, being as how it successfully suckers and frustrates so many auteur type fake author/writers of no real credentialed substance. If this were only coming to mind in say the month of April, I could end by typing the words April Fool's. Instead I'll simply end by concluding that the region that more or less invented if not perfected discrimination and prejudice, the East coast has come up with a doozy of a charade like excuse for a website.

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

P. B. Friedman

Touch magazine profile. My name is Paul Friedman and I write off. The wall poems, which people don't like and good ones that they do. I'm a sports freak.

The last sentence no longer holds true. My interests are dominated by feminism.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.