Confessions logo

How We Can Let People Go When a Relationship Runs Its Course

"Sometimes it takes a lifelong relationship to teach us the lessons we will learn." ~ Unknown

By Ram PaudelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
How We Can Let People Go When a Relationship Runs Its Course
Photo by Shingi Rice on Unsplash

"Sometimes it takes a lifelong relationship to teach us the lessons we will learn." ~ Unknown

I recently had to break off a friendship I had for about eight years.

During the first few years of our acquaintance, we developed a strong magnetic field. Each time we planned to participate, it was as if time did not stand still. We talked and shared so much that sometimes it was as long as five hours.

We texted each other a lot, sent out long e-mails, and planned coffee breaks when our lives were not so busy. I was looking forward to our exchange because I felt lifted every time I walked. I was going through a new feeling of inner growth, and I'm sure he felt the same way.

When our friendship ended, I needed to think more deeply about how we met. How we became friends was important because I saw that people build bonds over certain aspects of their lives. The people we attract are also our guide. We often have the same habits, patterns, and interests. We wouldn’t be drawn to each other if we didn’t deal with the similarities.

I met this friend of mine in a healing community. I was studying in a massage therapy school, and I was looking for people who would be interested in my six-week study. I signed him and saw him during the week.

We drew closer to our desire to make a living for ourselves - both on the outside, sharing what kind of cleansing food we were trying, and on the inside, sharing with the healers and spiritual teachers.

As we both progressed spiritually and spiritually, we encouraged one another along the way.

Years passed, and I began to see that it would be unusual for us to meet face-to-face. We became more supportive of just texting. Even emails have fallen. We stayed twenty minutes away from each other, but we fought hard to find time to meet, and when we did, it was usually my invitation.

I soon saw the distance between us, especially as I entered the deepest recesses of inner healing. As I did more inner work for me, I began to see more clearly the aspects of current relationships in my life. People are starting to fall.

I have found that as I find my inner strength and power to be true to myself, the people I once had a close relationship with no longer cared about what I offered.

My creative gifts were opening up, and I was sharing with them. I found this particular friend who could not support my newly acquired jobs, and shared some critical words with me. He spoke words of encouragement, comparing what he had done with what I am currently doing.

This behavior of his was the last red flag I needed for that friendship. I had seen plenty last year and a half, so we simply stopped communicating. I'm sure he can see the collapse of our connection, too. We had nothing in common.

This experience made me wonder why this only happened. I wanted to explore the deeper meaning of how people come together and how they divide.

I can guarantee that if you are human, you have experienced these types of fractures. They can be painful and painful, especially if we try to stick to them. In my case, I was fully prepared to let go of the friendship. I saw a note on the wall earlier. Most likely, we could have finished it sooner than we did.

How We Bind

When we form friendships or romantic relationships, we are always more committed to certain aspects of our lives or to our lives. Sometimes those bonds are not built in a healthy environment, but sometimes they are built.

When we feel the force of gravity on someone else, that exchange of energy makes us want to be in their presence more. And the more time we spend together, the more we see common sense in our lives and our personalities. It really becomes a sign of each other, both positive and negative.

Usually, in this great magnetic charge between two people, we learn lessons from each other to help us grow. Some people say that this attraction between two people exists because we have made soul agreements. Sometimes those contracts are short, and sometimes, they can be lifelong. Looking at it from that perspective can help reduce pain if the relationship or friendship ends.

Why Bond Breaks

This past year, I found myself at the end of two soul contracts. One, with a friend I mentioned, and the other one was a boyfriend, now a former ex. The deep inner work that I have chosen to do is what caused these bonds to fall apart.

I had to look at how we consulted and I had to look at what we put together.

In the case of my boyfriend, we became very close. We became close in ways that both of us felt unsupported and unheard of by our partners. But we also came close with many similarities in personality. We were the perfect view of each other. We have identified our needs and requirements for caring for a partner, our independent character, and our deeply entrenched patterns.

When I finally decided that I needed to change my lifestyle, that didn't work. I was ready to let go of all the inefficiency I had been living with, and he wasn’t. I realized that we were in jail for more than just overwork.

In the case of my friend, we became close to personal and spiritual growth. It was a normal, healthy bond. But in hindsight, that is exactly what I was doing. We both had trouble speaking and getting our words across. We both had no confidence in sharing our gifts with the world. We both had a strong need for reassurance from ourselves.

Dating
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.