Confessions logo

How I Screwed Up My Trip To New York (Spoiler: Not Really Though)

How I managed to transform one seemingly ordinary trip into one crazy adventure

By Jennifer RosePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

For my end-of-the-year senior trip, my professor decided to take us to New York City. She even had us elect “when” the trip was being held, and we all decided on Cinco De Mayo weekend- it was towards the end of the year and we could all relax afterward, finals notwithstanding. A lot of students were stressed, including one young lady who actually wanted Spring Break to last longer just so she had more time to catch up on her work! I was looking forward dearly to this trip, as was everyone else. I mean, I always enjoy a fun trip into the city, but now, I was a lot less stressed and figured that nothing could “possibly” go wrong, right?

RIiigghhhtttt.

I still remember that fateful day, May 6th, 2018. Mom pulled me up early to the local train station, so early that they were still playing Fresh 102.7’s Acoustic Sunrise. Before I knew it I was boarding the train, ready for a fun adventure in the city.

And have fun we did! We went on a ferry ride (both ways!), out to eat at a nice restaurant, saw Walt Whitman’s birthplace (almost in time for his bicentennial, no less!) and even went to a nearby playground. We couldn’t actually play on the “kid’s” playground there because the “Maximum” age cutoff was 12, which was presumably enforced by law, but we didn’t care. “Maybe we should cross off the “1” and put a “2” there!” joked one of the girls. (It was at that point I realized that I was getting old- it was a whole decade since I was excited for Horton Hears A Who!) We could, however, play soccer on the nearby field, which was honestly a lot of fun. We even took some nice pictures there, which I posted for my “Fun Things of 2018” retrospective that December.

Until the fateful moment happened. That one.

You see, when we bought our tickets at the train station going into the city, we were all required to have them with us. You know, to be responsible and all. However, when it was time to finally check out that evening, I couldn’t find my ticket in my own purse! My room is an absolute mess, and my purse is no better. Because of this little incident, we had actually missed our train- we were planning to take the 5:40 train, and now we would have to wait until the 6:40 train. Walking around the train station, I was honestly wondering why we were standing around doing nothing, until my professor said “We missed our train.” and couldn’t take the next train for practically another hour.

Seriously though, you wouldn’t BELIEVE how guilty I felt about the incident, and why wouldn’t I be? “Oh my god, I ruined the class trip!” I shrieked, like a melodramatic teenage girl. However, the other students of College of St. Elizabeth, being who they were, reassured me that it was no big deal. Even the professor herself just laughed it off! I was honestly a little surprised (okay, more than a little surprised) at their reaction, even though I was a student at the college long enough to realize that everyone was looking out for each other here. “We wouldn’t be able to spend extra time here if it weren’t for you- thanks, Jen!” My professor even emailed my Mom about what had happened, so that she wouldn’t get too worried about me. And, we did eventually catch the later train when it came.

Eventually, my mother was there to pick me up from the train station. She was surprisingly cool with it, even though she knew all too well “why” we were late- I had screwed up when looking for my ticket! As much as she’s concerned with organization, being my mom and all, she only wanted to be reassured that I was okay, and not, say, kidnapped by some Mexican drug cartel.

In life, you’re going to have your ups and downs, and sometimes you may lose your ticket on a class trip. But hey, that’s life. We all screw up and do stupid things- just ask, like, anyone who ever lived. And believe me, even- no, especially if you screw up, you screw up, you’ll get a fun story to tell, like the one I’m telling here,

School
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Rose

Ever since I was little, I wanted to write. As a little kid my mom would tell me things like "You were writing since you were in the womb. You had a little pen and paper in there, and would write things like "It's so comfy in here and all!"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.