Confessions logo

How I lost my job because of COVID

New years

By Queen anonymous Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
How I lost my job because of COVID
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

This is a story of how I lost my job on New Years.

To start of I was offered a promotion by my job at the time 2 weeks before Christmas Eve. I applied for a manager position that I ended up not not getting. I found out the news on Christmas Eve unfortunately, and that same day I got very sick. I had fallen asleep crying because I got the bad news and other stuff like backstabbing coworkers and friends.

After my cry to sleep I woke up to a giant wet puddle but it wasn’t because I had an accident you know? It’s because I cried for a very long time. So much so that it created a giant wet puddle on my bed. To top it off, that’s when I woke up and felt a super soar throat.

I went about my day after that long nap doing regular things like eating food and trying to cheer up for Christmas.

It was all fine untill I woke up even worse the next day. This time with a headache and other symptoms. I figured all will be well and it could just be a cold. I didn’t want to assume I had COVID since I had to get back to work in 2 days.

All of a sudden the symptoms were going away and I ended up going back to work but just in that time my symptoms came back and I ended up calling out on Wednesday morning because I could not get out of bed for the life of me. It seems the sickness eventually caught back up and worse than before. I soon found out it was COVID later on.

This is were it gets insteresting, and you won’t believe the actual reason I got fired at work. I call in that Wednesday morning around 7 am, and a kind lady answers the phone. She was one of the employees there ofcourse. I let her know that I am not feeling well and won’t be attending work that day or the rest of the week. She then replies to me saying that she will let everyone know, and hopes I get better soon. Most importantly, that I call again later that day to let a store manager know as well. I say “okay” and we hang up.

Everything seemed fine and then I fell asleep right after the call because I’m feeling quite weak. The entire day passed by and next thing you know I wake up at 5 pm. I had completely forgotten about the phone call I had to make, especially because I was so sick I couldn’t even focus.

I actually never called back, not for the next 3 days. I start feeling much better the fourth day and I call the store to give them an update. When I called I began saying “ Hello this is (my name) I am calling to let you know that I am feeling much b”. The store manager quickly interrupts me, and began to speak “ you haven’t called the store and talked to a store manager for the past four days so now you are suspended”. I told him “but I called that morning.” He then quickly says “you didn’t talk to a store manager, it’s policy.” Then I just said “okay”. Then he told me he would call me to update me on what corporate decides.

I waited every day for that call. I then was told after New Years finally that I was terminated. It means I can never work there again. Sad story really, i worked there 4 years and just like that. It just seems like things just keep getting worse for me, and nobody knows except you.

I will keep you posted every week about what happens next. We will see if happy endings really do come true. I believe all things happen for a reason. Anyway, thank you for reading my story. Much apreciated. Untill next time.

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Queen anonymous

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.