Confessions logo

Lost everything on Christmas Eve

What happened to me ?

By Queen anonymous Published 2 years ago 8 min read
1
Lost everything on Christmas Eve
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

This is quite a sad story so fasten your seatbelts and get your tissues ready

I will begin by telling you everything that led to this day so you will understand more in depth.

I had applied for a managers position in another store for the same company I was working for at the time. I was personally asked to apply for this position by another manager of that store. With that being said, I did! I thought it was a great opportunity, I was waiting for this moment a very long time.

To make things more clear I had been wanting this Oportunity for more than 4 years but the manager I had at the time ignored the fact that I was looking to move up. Every time we had a new hire he would move them into assistant manager to teach them how to manage so they are ready to be one. Unfortunately for me it wasn’t the case, he did this with about 10 people since I been there, all new hires. Eventually he moved to a different store and a different department and someone else took over. The person who took over was also one of the people that came after me.

This new manager was really rooting for my come up so I thought. Well a little time passed, just a few months since I got a new manager and she taught me things here and there. I began to really gain some strengths in managing.

I was ready to give up ready to move on to another job or place that I thought would value me more. I even put my two weeks in with the company, I was ready to start all over. Then all of a sudden I got a call from a manager in a different store from the one I worked asking me to apply for the manager’s position there. I couldn’t believe it, I felt as if finally my dreams were coming true. I was so eager so I signed up for the position right away.

During this time I noticed my coworkers were going places without me and it really bummed me out because I felt a lot left out. What I mean is both my manager and all my other coworkers were hanging out without me outside of work. I was not invited I guess. It bothered me but I was also thinking about the promotion and really focusing on that.

Sory I got a little of topic. Anyways, I got a call back a week later to come in for an interview. I go to the interview and all seemed well. I answered the questions with diligence and I thought I did pretty good. All that was left is for me to wait and see what happens.

I then found out that my coworker was applying for the same position. Shocker!!! She confronts me and tells me, hey we need to talk I said okay. She said to me “I found out you were applying for that managers position and I don’t want you to think I’m competing with you. I want us to be in good terms, please don’t be mad at me!” Oh trust me I was mad!!!! Mad to the core! I think I even turned red but I kept it together. She also mentioned that the same manager that told me to apply asked her to apply. I don’t know how much is true but I remember telling my manger about it just because I needed extra training. Mind you, during these few weeks my manager was ignoring my messages.

So we both did the interview and we were both waiting on the phone call from the othe store. I called almost every day to t an update on the oportunity and I got absolutely no answers.

So I wake up one morning get super ready. I mean like hair makeup done and everything super clean and I go to work. I’m having the best day ever. People were tipping us really well that day. All of a sudden it’s 12:30 pm and it’s time for me to go home. I emidiately call to see about the manager position to see if I got it. I got absolutely no response from them. I was told they had made a decision but they will not reveal it untill Monday.I sat for a moment thinking because I was waiting for an answer all week. I was anxious and wanted to get it over with. I especially didn’t want to hear it from the girl who also aplyed for it.

I got my things together and went downstairs ready to go home. As soon as I am walking out the girl stopped to tell me something. Yes! That girl! The kne who claims isn’t competing.

She stops, looks at me with a grin, I mean like a happy grin. Like if she had just heard the best news of her life. I look at her and once again she said “look don’t be mad at me okay, I got the managers position.” I almost broke down in that second, not only was the news devestatimg for me but it was that day. Yes that day was Christmas Eve. I got the worst news on. Christmas Eve, from the person I didn’t want to hear it from. I clenched my jaw under that mask and held my breath fir a little because I didn’t want to burst out crying.

To make things worse she explained how the other store managers asked her to call the other store because they had made a decision. The entire day they kept mentioning it to her so they knew all along. No one told me not even my manager the one that was ignoring me all week. They knew all along and nobody wanted to say it to my face so I had to find out from that girl!

I told my manager the news then I said “ no one wanted to tell me the truth I had to find out from her, how shady!” She then put her head down in shame and said nothing couldn’t even look me in the eyes. That’s when I found out she knew too just didn’t say anything.

I told the girl congratulations gave her a hug and went out the store. I wanted to cry I wanted to scream but I could not. I called my mom to pick me up, I told her in the phone the bad news. I didn’t mention everything because I didn’t want to brake down in public.

I waited patiently for a few minutes eventually my mom shows up, she parks. I go in the car I explain everything that happened. I just smiled and said “ everything happens for a reason maybe God doesn’t want this for me”. She said yea maybe there is something better waiting for you.

She tells me she is going to get something from the store really quick. She leaves and I wait I’m the car. As she’s walking away I call the store because I wanted to know if what the girl said was completely true. One of the managers there answers and I say to him: “hey do you know who got the managers position at the other store ?” He responds: yes (I won’t say any names but that girl) got it. Then he proceeded with: “well at least can be the other manager’s backup” I told him do I get a raise or something for that ?” He said “ well no”.

I was so angry and frustrated I wanted to hang up. I ended saying okay thanks, then he had the nerve to tell me Mary Christmas!!

I then quickly text the manger front he other store, you know the one who asked me to apply. Yes I have her number, it’s normal. I send her a text saying “ hey do you know who got the manager’s position?”

I mean I knew who got it I just wanted to see what she would say. Emediately she responded “ I don’t actually, I already left the store” I text her back “ I already know she got it”. She never replied to me.

My mom gets back and I start balling! I never felt so betrayed in my entire life! I looked at her and said “we’re is my happy ending ? Why does this happen to me? I have done nothing absolutely nothing to these people mom!!!

We got home and I laid down. With much heart ace I cried and cried on my bed. Eventually I fall asleep. But wait it gets worse! I wake and my throat is soar, I wasn’t feeling well. I cried so much a puddle of water was on my bed which explains why I got sick.

Also by the time I woke up I had no time to get ready for the party. I looked horrible all night.

One thing is for sure ! There are worst things out there and people with worse news on Christmas eve. But I thought I would share this story with you.My family that night sort of helped I’m very blessed but that was the absolutely worst Christmas Eve ever!!

Maybe there is something better for me out there. I guess we will find out !

Thank you for reading ♥️

Workplace
1

About the Creator

Queen anonymous

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.