Confessions logo

Homeless

The Champion with no team & The King with no castle

By AvRage Everything Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Through the process of creating the life I want by becoming who I have envisioned, believed, & aspired to be. I have seen the days that I wouldn’t have thought to be memories. Looking back from times, closer to then, than now I blamed myself for every circumstance. I made the choice to pursue my own path.

Ignoring the details, and other factors. I solely blamed myself for not being good enough to capture the moments. Blaming myself for the injury, and not fighting through. Blaming myself, for giving up the time.

Trying to make peace with my choice to leave behind training for a greater chance to revive the time & rewards. Became a long greyhound across the country. As I said to myself “you were in a trailer, your injured, & we can make a great come back.”

I was sleeping on a wooden slab in a silver trailer called “the silver bullet” during one of the hottest record summers at the time with no air, a backpack full of ramen and a shoulder injury. How did the promising, up in coming young man nicknamed “Young Ali” even come to being in that present moment?

To make a longer story short, a chance I took to meet my biological family, leaving a planned path towards my goals and success. Why? Questions, filling of this void, that even when all has been said and done. Just grew even deeper in depth and wider in size. Over time, I have accepted, let go & forgiven those times.

Then, the great reset took place after a decent recovery. The training began, but for a different vision. Hawk Island. Now I have put some size on and football is at the front of my mind. Working & training my regular schedule. Combines throughout the next couple years good & ugly.

Back to blaming myself, for not having the success. But, I shortly stayed in this mental space. Because now older and learning the business. I was seeing that I have to be understanding that the opportunity is truly funding for the teams and they weren’t looking for the position I was going for. Talent and Skill play some parts, don’t get me wrong.

I also realized that great can be greats (1-10) above good just as there are many goods (1-10). Learning there’s so many aspects of this athlete world with a monopoly on the opportunities to be your level of great. Really opened my eyes to the mountains ahead.

Through a place of new insight I decided. Home is where I want to be, boxing is the true fit for the risk, reward and control I am all in. My future as an athlete decided. Now learning there’s more to understand than just going to a gym, sparring, fighting and going pro.

It’s about finding a team that listens and supports you in your vision, no matter how big. It’s marketing and being able to create the influence for big fights. It’s what your fighting for outside the ring. Not just personal & material stuff, but really what stands out for the impact you want to have in a career.

Those were all lessons & experiences during and after my 2nd time of being homeless. Now getting back on my feet. I ended up taking a job out of state to create a real financial foundation for my family & child on the way. Which was an epic fail and a lie by design from the job event about the true amount one would earn by going.

A choice setting me back 6 months, that I still haven’t got in front of quite yet. Nothing, but lessons is how I kept pushing to make this setback a thing of the past. Not giving into the pressures around. Job after job, the opportunity to win a little arises in semi-pro football.

It wasn’t paid, but it was what I needed to keep hope alive. Not in being an athlete. In being able to overcome my mountains ahead. I started to be depressed, upset, full of emotions that weren’t helping me find my peace. I started to worry. I started to lose confidence. Nothing was working out and I was just getting older.

I trained, practiced and got to see my hard work pay off as a starter. Even though I was getting almost every job position I interviewed for. This was what put a smile on my face. This put that fire back in my spirit. Enough to fuel the next couple of years where I gave up my athletic pursuits to rebuild the foundation since I was only getting older, with a child and in a relationship.

I believed I could come back to my dreams after I got it together for my family. Still a great struggle and unfortunately not the result I was after. Things just fell apart. Now getting to my prime age, and wanting to change it around in the best way I believe I can.

I planned to make my athletic come back, but smarter. So I started my brand 2019. A financial foundation to give back and help me afford the time and lifestyle required.

But, right before the start of my brand, a pivotal moment happened while working. I decided to pitch one of my ideas, to a CEO in hopes of a pay raise and opportunity to open up a couple of opportunities for others. That choice in turn, became an opportunity to sit with the businesses marketing team from the CEO himself.

Hell, we weren’t on the same page ultimately, no pay raise or opportunities. But, some of my ideas were being written down by a wide eyed person with interest and I will say the confidence to step up to the CEO & my keen ambition got me into that meeting.

So regardless, of the outcome. It was a moment I went for, that gave me new knowledge and the confidence to pursue the future that’s now my present. Where I was able to build and create the opportunity for myself to have something that was mine.

AvRage2Savage was born in the darkest of times, where it would only be here, if I made my own light. The climb has been mountain after mountain realizing that’s what life truly is, and the process of understanding that has been one to truly forge the foundation of my brand and it’s mission as ineffable.

3rd times the charm, right. I AM going to find my team and I AM going to have my castle.

12/28/2021 7:16 PM

To be continued… 2022

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

AvRage Everything

“I accept my part in the storm and I’m separated from the storm now the observer. Be in stillness, not in emotion, for you aren’t in the storm, just witnessing it. Your in the eye, so you can see the sky.” They call me AvRage

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.