Confessions logo

Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers

I am the Hampton OG

By The Vibe Podcast Published about a year ago 4 min read
1
Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers

I am indeed the Hampton Inn OG... and I've got proof of it darling!

Yes, yours truly was fortunate enough to be part of the opening crew of that amazing joint in Yonkers, New York which also happens to be my hometown.

Lots of experiences to share and stories to tell!

We have an episode on The Vibe Podcast dedicated to this topic!

The reasons why I had to look for a job... how I found the ad in a local newspaper... to the day I went to the interview.

All of the interesting characters I have met along the way, some I have lost touched with, but one even became my baby daddy!

Yup lots of stories to tell on that joint in Yonkers.

I am very saddened by my departure from the Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers. I am still not ready to share exactly what caused my exit from the joint that I help open... by that I mean I had to train for the part of Front Desk Agent, we had to take a test just for the place to be able to open... we even had to clean the entire place up after construction.

Back in 2009, the Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers was the first hotel to open in 46 years, in the small city that I call home... so it was kind of a big deal.

I myself did not know it was such a big deal... but as a writer, I am absolutely loving this part! You must see what I have seen!

From the hilarious training videos, we had to watch, to scenarios and funny words like "Folio" to actually being featured on the news!

Slight big deal!

Shout out to those in Hospitality! I feel your pain and I will share our story!! Some of us folks are absolutely wild.. like we enjoy being nice and creating a fun enviroment for the team and guests??

Absolutely wild! So much so that I often refer to myself as the Wild Woman from Westchester. I do reckless things like reading and writing and to the reader, I hope you are sitting down for this because... I also tell the truth.

What's even more wild is that I am not alone! Our pages are growing, and it looks like I'll be able to share my story.

I've got plenty of stories! We have a page on Indiegogo in the event another wild individual would want to join me on a writing adventure.

Back in 2009, I did not know how good I had it. I did not know how fortunate I was to have a job.

It turned out to be a very promising career. I went from Front Desk to Night Audit and Bar at the very same property I helped open.

Diana Costas, Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers 2009

Channel 12 News Westchester 2009

I don't really have photos of myself from back in 2009... but I am happy to report that you can still find the newsclip of the opening on YouTube!

The past 13-14 years have been absolutely wild and can tell you that I would not be where I am today without an education.

I am going to be bold enough to suggest that money and a title does not define you... guess why?

Because I have been there, I have had money, I have had the title... and I have never been happier than what I am today.

Today I struggle financially... but I put what little money I get to work because I believe in myself and my goals.

Little by little it's happening, and I savour these moments... I am going on other podcast shows, promoting my first book!

I wrote my very first book during a very difficult time in my life.

How Spirituality Saved My Life,can be found everywhere online!

Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Walmart... everywhere but I wish for my second book to be in shelves.

Back2BasicsMode can be found on Spotify podcast, and I will be joining the host, Girish Bali on an upcoming episode for his Season 3.

The person that I am today is very different from the young single mother from Yonkers, New York.

I do have a dark past, but I have grown, and I wish the world could see what I have seen.

Little by little we are getting there...

Can't Knock the Hustle, Mary J Blige, Yonkers is our Home

TabooWorkplaceHumanityEmbarrassment
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.