Confessions logo

Goodbye To All My Vocal Friends

Worldwide Friendship

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
34

Sorry for the clickbait heading , but thought it may catch someone’s eye.

No I am not leaving you but I have a nasty demon that tells me when people don’t talk with me , the reason is that they find me boring , obnoxious, or just don’t even notice me. It tells me to leave the groups and completely remove myself from you , unfriend my closest and most loving and supportive contacts and effectively lead myself in limbo.

If I had no friends , and no one to talk to it would destroy me , it really would.

There are times I need to be alone , like when I am writing this, but recently I have collaborated with Melissa Ingoldsby on two wonderful poems. Would I throw that away on the words of an nasty , evil destructive demon or voice in my head? No way.

The positive side of me gets fairly violent on that demon’s ass , and shows me all the love and support my friends give me.

A major part of this is the fact that almost all my Vocal friends are in the North American land mass with one in Australia , some in India , and only one Caroline Jane in the UK. So basically I only have one Vocal friend in my time zone. Since then I have found a few more Vocal friends on the UK land mass especially Sarah Covey , who is woderfully supportive.

The thing is when I am asleep , you have ended your working day, when I wake up you are asleep , when I finish my work day you are working. That is not conducive to ANY conversation , but we do it and I get so much from my conversations with all of you.

The meme below is very true, I may see you on Facebook being active , but I do not know what your issues are, sometimes I do and think Mike , just step back the will call when they are ready. This is where my demon tries to attack again , but I know I have no rights to anyone's time, and if they do contact me it's because they WANT to contact me , I would hate to think it was because I was badgering them, I do want people to want me because when it comes down to it I am an attention whore.

Care For Your Friends

If I were to get mercenary , if it wasn’t for the reads I get from the vocal groups I would not be getting any money from Vocal , I have withdrawn $525 since April 2021 ($120 paid for Vocal+) and while it is just coffee money , it is not costing me anything to be a Vocal+ member.

Vocal+ is just the place where I store my stories, the Vocal Facebook Groups are where I get feedback , support , encouragement and love , yes LOVE . Every day I want to write and the flame and drive for that is from my wonderful Muse , without her I would not be where I am now.

Most people in these groups rate me as a poet, and with that comes a responsibility to actually write good poetry. Neil Diamond once said that it took him eight weeks to write the words “I Am .. I Said” , I don’t take that long , and very often count on my stream of consciousness but I will look and say , “That word is not right, It needs to be more …. “ , I actually think about my audience, or the subject of the poem and the reaction I will get from them.

One final observation is that there are many people in all the Vocal Groups. Vocal Social Society is the most controlled and therefore the easiest to find things in but people are not in all the groups so we post our stories in each of the groups and somebody may love and comment but we may not see that because we are looking at other postings.

The lead in music is John Martyn’s “Over The Hill” which I intend to use for another piece , but the opening line is “Going Away To Leave You , Gonna Leave You In Disgrace” which is appropriate for me.

Humanity
34

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.