Confessions logo

Get to Know Me

Christmas Edition

By Rene PetersPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
6
Get to Know Me
Photo by Cameron Stewart on Unsplash

This article was inspired by the following piece by Mother Combs...

1. My favorite Christmas movie is How the Grinch Stole Christmas with Jim Carrey. I've thought it was adorable for as long as I can remember. It has some catchy songs, in my opinion, too.

2. My favorite Christmas song is All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey. I think it might be because of all of my hopeless crushes.

3. While most people enjoy looking at Christmas lights, I only sometimes like it. Sometimes it contributs to migraines. However, sometimes sunglasses help prevent a migraine so I'm still able to look at them. We always listen to Christmas songs while looking at lights and it's a lot of fun when there's no feeling of wanting to rip my brain out.

4. I hate the idea of elf on a shelf, even as an adult. It creeps me out so much even with knowing the truth about it. The idea of an inanimate object is terrifying to me. It could lead to some interesting stories though so maybe it isn't completely useless.

5. Christmas is my favorite holiday (always had been) but not because of presents (like when I was younger). It's my favorite now because I get to see all my close family but in smaller groups and can escape when I inevitably get overwhelmed.

6. I believed in Santa until I was nine or ten. I didn't find out the truth from my parents. In fact, they didn't know until I was around 15 that I knew the truth. I found out by overhearing kids at school talking about how they stayed up to see Santa but they actually saw their parents doing "Santa's job," talking bored from cookies and bringing more gifts under the tree.

7. While most people have a favorite gift that they have been given, I don't and I have my parents to thank for that. They always taught my siblings and me to appreciate whatever people are willing and able to do for us, no matter how insignificant it seems. For as long as I can remember, I made sure I appreciate everything that people do just because of how my parents have always been.

8. The only Christmas concerts I have gone to as an audience member were my brother and sister's band and chorus concerts. Even with them being school concerts, I always love it. I love supporting my siblings and being there as a decent older sister for them. Last year, there was even a pleasant surprise of my brother having a solo in band! He did incredible!

9. This year, I got to volunteer at my first ever Christmas event at an organization that I have been involved in since I was 13. I started volunteering for the organization when I was 17 and Thursday night was the Christmas party. I love being able to give back to the community that has been there every step of the way since I was 13. I only checked in people and gave them raffle tickets but there was so much other stuff that it was a huge help to the event coordinator. I was so helpful that in a thank you email I (and and many others) received the following day, I was mentioned by name (along with only two other people).

10. This one is the craziest to me... While I absolutely LOVE singing, I have never been Christmas caroling. Singing is my life, I love the rush of performing, and I haven't ever done Christmas caroling.

SecretsFamilyChildhood
6

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic5 months ago

    Would you ever go Christmas carolling?

  • I hope one day you'd go Christmas caroling. Also, so sorry for what those lights do to you. I enjoyed getting to know more about you!

  • What a great Getting to Know You piece!!! I really enjoyed reading it. ❤️

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Heartwarming story!!! Love it!!!💕❤️

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    I love this!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.