Confessions logo

Episode 6) the Perfect Podcast

however I called it episode 5, and that was wrong

By Jazzy Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
18

*Special co-host today!

Welcome back to “The Shrug”, still working on a catchphrase so if you have one, let me know! I will be focusing this episode on submissions to my Perfect Challenge. If you haven't entered, please see the link below and make an entry! I want to say thank you to everyone who has entered and I have enjoyed reading all of them!

I apologize for being absent, I have quite a few hobbies I have been pursuing such as my competitive tennis and weight loss journey, and this week I needed quite a bit of time to recover. I have rested and I'm back ready to be more engaged and invested in the platform and hopefully attempt some of the challenges put forth by other creators. I have some books in the queue to be published and it turns out it takes some time; so my impatience drains me! Nonetheless, I have some great interviews lined up and I can't wait to continue finding more content for the podcast! Thank you to everyone who supports the podcast, and please remember to consider tipping to help me continue the podcast and rating the podcast in your podcast player! Every little thing helps in the grand scheme of the internet!

There were so many amazing entries and I decided to showcase a couple. My own perfect morning poem will be submitted to a publication “Auroras & Blossoms Magazine”, and hopefully be featured. More details here. Which was super easy to do and required only a form to be filled out! So run don’t want to entering yourself!

I also wanted to take the time to mention that there is an opportunity to invest in Vocal, and I went ahead and invested a small sum. This is a great opportunity to give more urgency to your writing and perhaps propel you forward. Consider investing today!

Here are the wonderful selections I have chosen for you today!

S. A Crawford

This poem brought me back to mornings in Montana; I'd wake up with my sister in my grandmother's house, the Magpies would chirp and crow, and we'd eat breakfast on the patio in the still morning air as the sun rose. This poem embodied that experience in a way I felt deep in my psyche.

Mohammed Darasi

This was his first try at free-verse poetry and his ability to juxtapose technology to a sunset was magnificent. I can't remember the last time I saw a sunset but this poem reminds me to turn away from the screens and take in that brilliant moment between day and night.

Gerald Homes

This is about the sunrise and the imagery makes me feel like I'm on a lake in Montana, kayaking down toward the adjacent River. The artist captures the essence of the night, being reborn once again into the day, with words that captivate the soul!

Donna Renee

This entry was a top story, and for good reason. I have seen this form a couple of times, the flow and stecato of the poem feels musical and has a gentle rhythm that feels great for the mind. I feel like this poem embodies a nice self care moment that should be built into our day!

JD Pernoste and Anneliese Dahl

This poem reminds me of my own, that of being awake before anyone else in the house and feeling this magical intimacy as you see the ones you love to sleep. I can't help myself, I want to pray over them and kiss their cheek as they seem so serene and peaceful. Which is exactly how I describe this poem.

HumanityFamily
18

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Great job! That’s very good of you. A few I’ve yet to read! ☺️

  • S. A. Crawford8 months ago

    Oh my goodness, thank you so much for including my poem; hearing someone read my poetry felt so surreal and nice. Also the fact that it reminded you of your childhood touched me really deeply - just goes to show that our experiences are often shared across time and geography. People are people no matter where they are.

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    Thank you so much for doing this, Jazzy. I really loved hearing you read my poem but most of all I fell in love with your very special guest!

  • Whoaaa, you have so much on your plate! I'm so glad you took some time to rest. That's the most important. I'll be coming back to listen to the podcast!

  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    Great episode jazzy, and thank you for reading my poem... loved the co-host ☺️ she was very cute, and I'm happy she liked the poem 😁. I read Donna's poem before but it was nice coming across the other ones. I will read them when I get the chance later today. P.s. you said my name right 👍🏽☺️

  • I got so excited… for the first time the link opened and I could see the episodes in a list…but pressing play just resulted in endless spinning and again being today this device won’t play them 😕 I will have them all to look forward to some day in the future! Meanwhile I loved these Poetry choices 🤍✨❤️🤍❤️✨🤍

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Jazzy, what a phenomenal episode (as always)! I really enjoyed your choices. Your comments are also on point! Your daughter sounds so cute and comfortable with a mic! She is a future podcaster. I am really happy that you are teaching her to appreciate poetry. It warms my heart. Also, thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing the link to Auroras & Blossoms's submission call!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    These are wonderful and I really liked reading your notes!! Thanks so much for including me ☺️☺️

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulous episode five!!! Love this!!! If you have a moment, check out my latest Limerick, TEEN SPIRIT!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.