Confessions logo

Entering 30's

Discovery in Identity

By Ada ZubaPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
Entering 30's
Photo by Fred Moon on Unsplash

When I Heard about this Identity challenge, I thought to myself "This is so perfect" as I had just gone through my 30th birthday and it made me reflect on things a little deeper than usual. I opened up my journal and the blank page nearly mocked me, since I had so much, I wanted to write down.

Growing up, I was always so sure of myself. I knew what I liked, what I disliked, what were my favorite films, how much I have traveled, where I have traveled, my hobbies, my interests. I thought everything was so clear, it was clearer than glass, it was so transparent to me. Then, I finally landed a job I loved and got married, my life seemed to be falling into place like it was supposed to.

However, about a week before my 30th birthday I was freaking out, I was not ready to be old. When you're 29 you think you have so much life ahead of you, but it hit me like a brick wall, my back would be hurting without a cause, my whole body was going to start aching and then i have an expectation to have children, which I do want but I am not ready to be grown-up, I don't want my life to be completely taken over by children yet, but knowing that my mom hit menopause earlier than expected I am worried the same thing will happen with me. I feel like as soon as you have children, you can no longer be selfish and your whole life is dedicated aorund your children. I do want children do not get me wrong, but I don't want to yet because that means I will be old. All of these thoughts kept coming into my mind and my brain recycled the same idea again and again. Then, I think it was day prior to my birthday I realized that I did my 20's right, I did it all. I traveled, I got to meet my nephews, I got to see my older siblings get married, I did a lot of growing up. Then, the thought about having children was not at all bad. I did everything in my life I wanted to achieve. I have a fantastic job, I have a great husband, I have seen Europe, I did a French course in Quebec. I lived so much in short period of time, my 30's are going to be a different era in my life. I might live in another city, or might be exactly where I am right now, I might give birth to a child or two or three, I might get pregnant, I might live in a van for a while, I might travel even more than I already have.

There is a list of things I would like to achieve in my 30's which is:

-Travel

-Go on a cruise

-Get pregnant

-Give birth to a healthy baby

-Own a home (not necessarily a house because I live in Canada)

-Go on Maternity leave

-Figure out where to go shopping for clothes in my 30's

Even though there are many things I would like to achieve I feel like I know myself more than I ever thought possible. I love going to all-inclusive resorts, I have social anxiety, which is lessening. I love being an administrative assistant, I like switching jobs to challenge myself, I do not have any close friends because I know that I will have to pretend to be someone I am not and that's too exhausting or they will move on or disappoint me in some way, my sisters mean everything to me, I hate shopping with other people. I would rather spend time alone than to be fake with others. Small talk really gets on my nerves unless if it's someone new, I daydream a lot, I fear that the fantasy book I wrote will be rejected by publishers or that no one will read it, I am afraid of letting people down, I am hard on myself. I love being creative even though I still paint like I am eight years old; I love to write even if it is just for me to enjoy. These are all elements that make me who I am, and I could not be happier as I continue to grow and improve on who I am.

Cheers~

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.