Confessions logo

Embracing Life As It Is

Finding happiness in solitude

By James E. AnduyanPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
1

Since I was young, I've always been envious of others' ability to be openly themselves. When I observed how wonderful they were at communicating with others, my insecurity would always press on me, hoping that soon I would be able to do the same.

I used to be a timid person before. In contrast to my classmates, who were talking and playing with one another, I used to merely sit on a chair and draw in the back of my notebook while minding my own business. Even when one of them approaches me, I rarely engage in conversation because I am unable to keep up a talk for very long or match the enthusiasm they exude when speaking to me.

As time went on, I could say that I made some progress in my high school years. That quiet little guy improved a bit and began to converse with others. Maybe as we get older, we have no choice but to get along with people, especially in school, in order to survive. But in all fairness, I got used to it, and that forced relationship with someone turned into a true enjoyment where I no longer needed to pretend. I felt genuine happiness with my group of friends as we joked together about a variety of topics, shared the same struggle with completing scholastic duties, and ate together during break times.

Those were the days that are worth remembering. The thought of those moments still makes me wonder how we came to be so distant from one another. Everything abruptly changed when I transferred to another university to finish senior high school, and as we made new friends, the connection we formerly shared seemed to have been lost.

I didn't anticipate my life to be this way. My close pals quickly becoming just people who appear to have forgotten their memories of me was never something I ever thought about before.

With all the happenings, I came to a realization that life is truly just about yourself at the end of the day. Many people will show up, but we must recognize that because we are traveling down separate roads, our relationships with them may evolve through time or even cease to exist. It is not about meeting a lot of people; it is about making memories with them that would make your journey remarkable.

Even though I still keep in touch with a few SHS friends, I have to understand that even while I see them for the sake of creating new memories, they will soon part ways as we pursue various interests. They might not be around for very long, but the memories you created with them will.

Perhaps, all I need to do is just embrace this way of living as it is what it is to me. Although we encounter many people along the way, we are often left to handle things by ourselves.

Nonetheless, being alone is not necessarily a terrible thing; in fact, you can find happiness and tranquility within yourself. Receiving love from others is wonderful, but providing comfort for oneself is something special.

Teenage yearsFriendship
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Belle13 days ago

    Beautiful work! I find this so very true and relatable. I think most of us struggle at some point with finding peace in others, and then we need to refind that peace within ourselves... As introverts, we force ourselves to be extroverts, and once extroverts, we need to be able to have that tranquility in being alone again. Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.