Confessions logo

Dragon Beside me

Challenge

By Jen PhillipsPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
Dragon Beside me
Photo by Melissa Askew on Unsplash

For this challenge, I'm supposed to pick one Woman who inspires me in my day-to-day life. How am I supposed to only pick one when so many women have inspired me into the person I am today?

From Michelle Obama to Oprah Winfrey to J.K Rolling. This is just some of the inspirational women that came to the top of my head. So, this is a loaded question when you have women who have made history; Ann Frank, and Rosa Parks.

With so many inspirational women it's hard to pinpoint just one woman who inspired me and got me to where I am today. Each woman has their own ways that have an inspirational pull on me but at the end of the day they wanted something and they made it work. Did what they needed to do in order to make it to their end goal. When they got their they found something new. There’s always room for improvements in life

Which led them to grow and learn new things about themselves and find new ways to become a better person. When people take their ideas and run with them and actually play it out is amazing. Especially when that one idea opens so many new opportunities and grows right in front of you.

Getting to that point is the hard and complicated part because when it gets hard people tend to tap out before they get to the finish line. It's too sad part though because if they worked a little hard longer they would off herded over the complications and come out with something so beautiful.

I did some cheating and looked up a list of inspirational women and Barbie came up on the list. I find this to be interesting but watching the movie recently and feeling like I am relate to Barbie in the movie on so many levels. Not saying men don't have it hard, everything one has it difficult in their own way but seeing how both men and woman have the world at their feet while the other doesn't. Realising this issue and experiencing what the other has gone through and coming to meet each other in the middle.

All of these increduable women who Girl’d Boss their way to the top. Since I need to pick just one woman who inspired me to become the person who I am today would have to be Sophia Amoruso. There was a Netflix series based on her life, Girl Boss.

As someone who is working on becoming an entrepreneur; starting from nothing, with no money, and having no idea what I am doing besides what the end goal is. Watching someone, especially a woman, grow a business out of nothing to make a business out of the back of her car to have a multi-billion dollar business. Almost losing it and being able to turn it around and still killing it today.

It's a bonus that Sophia has books, podcasts, her own website and the ability to help other small entrepreneurs get going.

It's amazing being able to watch someone grow their ideas- watch them burn to the ground then rebuild everything they lost and come out 10 times better- stronger in the end is amazing. It actually helps to motivate me to put in more work.

If you really want something you will find a way to make it work to be able to get to where you need to be. The question is how badly do you want it? How hard are you willing to work in order to make end game?

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.