Confessions logo

Don't Let Go of Your Warriors

My Hero is God

By Perqwaila Published 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
drew by Perqwaila Williams

I will never let go of someone holding my wrist.

There is so many warriors in my own personal war who has been making sure I elevate through how they live there life they became my inspiration but my hero the one who has never let go of my wrist is God.

This letter is not to my hero, this letter is to the warriors who my hero gave to me. I want to address the ones who have helped me elevate and become who I am today from their sound advice to any helping hand that was given.

Thank you Donavan. When you came into my life I knew everything would change about me, I did not know what but I knew you were THE ONE. You were going to be the one I needed to challenge who I was and grow. I knew there would be mountains, hills, and storms we would go through but I knew who I was and I saw who you were. I elevated because of you. My grandmother helped shape my personality and you helped me control it. Because of you I can be kind without being stepped all over, because of you my loyalty was tested and confirmed, and because of you every part of me is confirmed. You showed me who I am and who I can be because of you I trust myself to be me. Your love and our mistakes made me into a stronger woman, a better mother. I love everything about you even your flaws sometimes I get annoyed but that's the human in me. Through heavens eyes your the perfect man for me and a amazing man with or without me and I knew it the day I knew I never wanted to lose you no matter what it took. I love you King Donavan.

Thank you Nanny. You were the backbone to a fallen family. You gave me a beautiful mother who I love dearly. Nanny you made me who I am today everything about who I am came from who you were. Everyone has their own version of you but the genuine energy you gave off I knew I could look up to you. The wise, the caring, the loyalty, and the love you shared migrated into my own unique personality now my spirit is full. You was always there upon confusion, always there when I needed to cry, always there to give the wise advice. The year you left me to go home to heaven is the year I started college and decided what I needed to do to survive and live not just for me but my daughter. On earth and in heaven mentally, physically, and emotionally I held on to your kindness and sweet heart applying it to every aspect of my life. I am kind because of you, I am humble, I am loyal, respectful, obedient to my superiors, and submissive to my fiancé, yes your Donavan all because I chose you to follow and you lead me into a life I could be proud of. Me and you nanny, my nanny and I from the beginning until the end.

Thank you mommy. I love you and you been through so much hell and back but one thing you never were is someone who give up. That is what I got from you that is what I took. Though people may say what they please and you may feel the way you feel everything you did in your life have made me into a strong woman. I feel like I can handle anything because of you. Pain never wins God always does because of you and the blue sky's you put over your storms I am able to survive the storm mom. I am able to survive the storm because of you. The love I felt from you made my love even stronger and because of you I can love stronger. Your the best mother a child could ask for no matter your struggles or choices in life I took the great you gave me and applied it to my life and it is so much better. Also mother without the storms you encountered or mistakes you made I would not be able to avoid certain situations. Then. I would be lost.

Thank you Dad. You stepped in when my biological dad had more important things in life then me. Every doubt I felt in my life because of him your presence reassured me that I meant something on this blue marble. The way you were when I was a child, I did not understand but your unique character, personality helped me a lot as a adult. I learned patience, understanding, and acceptance because of you. I don't know where I would be without you. Without a dad. Your amazing and you mean more then anyone has told you.

Thank you Audray and Julisa. Thank you so much for being my confidence and loving me. Thank you sissy for just being there whenever I call. I am so proud of you and watched you for years be independent giving me the confidence to do the same. Thank you sis for just being you, watching you over the years and the obstacles you overcame, just the confidence you carry within yourself lets me know not to be afraid to be me.

Thank you Dalin, Toriano, Aunt Nay Nay and Tane. I appreciate yaw more then you know. Thank yaw for challenging my thoughts, my beliefs, and having me really think about things. Challenging me to find the truth and find who I am when it comes spirituality. So many of our talks, yaw rants, our debates and arguments has opened my eyes to so much that I would have never seen stuck in my own beliefs.

Thank you Auntie Brandy, Cousin Karen, Cousin Deyondria, Cousin Lariesha, Aaliyah and Kimberly. You ladies have done so much in my life mentally its crazy. Auntie Brandy my whole life, besides nanny, you have been a great inspiration and role model, I wanted to be just like you explains so many years of me purposely annoying you as a child. I watched you be a strong independent woman our whole life afar, I seen you grow as a woman with purpose. It gave me so much confidence to watch you tackle down each goal with style and succeed. Your a amazing woman and mother , without you I would be lost. Cousin Karen watching you achieve your goals and in doing so making sure your children reach the same goals. The love you have for your children success mean so much to me as a mother, as a woman. You give me confidence to be better for my children so they don't weather as much storms as we go through ourselves. Thank you cousins Dria and Tayia yaw mean so much to me watching yaw growth and success over the years has made me apart of who I am today. Kimberly watching you and your success when I started gave me a whole other outlook on life and what I could be doing as who I am while maintaining the children I have and love. You showed me through watching you that I can be free to be who I want to be. Aaliyah when I met you was the day I knew everything would be ok in my life you gave the type of energy that made me question my own insecurities. You make me feel alive, important. Because of you I know people care about me, it made me open my eyes to seeing what others may have going on and that I am just as important no matter how I feel. Waking up to your morning messages made me feel loved and I appreciate you.

Thank you Aunt Hazel and Uncle Tre. It is because of you that I follow by example in my relationship, both of you are the reason why my relationship is strong and peaceful. I love you both and yaw are important to me and the woman I have become.

Last but no least Mrs Deb. Thank you I appreciate all you have done in my life to make it easier. You came into my life through my mom and became family. You have gave me so much advice to not deal with people bull crap and worry about raising my family. You are teaching me to be a backbone a rock just to be tough and beyond so many other things material wise you have been so much to me in my life. Thank you.

So to Donavan, nanny, mom, dad, Audray, Julisa, Dalin, Toriano, Tane, Aunt Nay Nay, Auntie Brandy, Cousin Karen, Cousin Deyondria, Cousin Lariesha, Aaliyah, Kimberly, Aunt Hazel, Uncle Tre, and Mrs. Deb thank you all. There have been so many who has been there for me and thank you to all of you also but these people impacts linger in my thoughts when I think about who I am becoming as a woman and who I have already become. So thank you to God the most high for being my Hero and putting these warriors in my army.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Perqwaila

Join the mind of a explorer who imagination run wilder then Barney. Where the energy is positive and you are able to express your feelings the way you'd like because I am a believer in we all have a voice. Join Jovies' Journey into Success.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.