Confessions logo

Do You Have A Fetish For A Certain Accent?

I Have a Fetish For Two Different Accents Other Than My Own.

By Carol TownendPublished 24 days ago 3 min read
2
Do You Have A Fetish For A Certain Accent?
Photo by Eliott Reyna on Unsplash

I am British. I have a British accent, and my husband has a British accent. I love my husband to bits, and I love his deep voice, but there is something I just can't shake...,

I have a fetish for the American accent.

I do not know why!

I was talking about this with my husband tonight, who finds it funny. We talk about things like this a lot.

It's one big plus in our marriage that we can talk about fetishes and crushes without feeling jealous.

Jealousy has no place in our marriage. We think it's cruel and mean. We have been together for over 20 years, so we feel comfortable talking about anything.

Now, let's get to the point.

I am attracted to both men and women, but in this case, it seems to be the male American accent that sends me to jelly.

I like deep, husky tones, as much as I like soft tones, but the American accent seems to give me an edge that I can't explain!

Here is another confession, if I dare!

I also have a thing for the Irish accent, and in this case, it is both male and female.

Yet again, I don't know why!

It seems to be the deep, husky tone of an Irish male's voice or the softer, sharper tone of an Irish female voice that makes me whisper "phwoar!" under my breath.

One of my favorite bands is The Script

I discovered I had a fetish for the Irish voice through my love of Danny O'Donoghue's singing voice.

I am baffled!

I know people crush on people, but it seems I crush on accents too!

I love the sharpness of Danny's vocals. I find it soothing, and alluring at the same time, and I find my heart melts when I hear him sing!

Maybe it's a comfort thing, but I have always wondered why certain accents send me going weak at the knees, so any ideas whether serious or funny are welcome at all costs!

Now, back to my husband.

My husband is a U.K. Southerner. He has a deep voice which can be sharp, soft, and loud when he wants it to be.

I love his voice to bits, and I did fall in love with it!

However, I seem to have a fetish for the two accents I just talked about. Maybe it's because they are different, I don't know, but I do know one thing,

I have always had a fetish for American and Irish accents.

When I was a teenager, most of the bands I loved were American and Irish such as Guns n Roses and The Corrs.

I would sit in my bedroom and drool over the American, and Irish accents for hours.

I even managed to somehow fantasize about snogging them, though that would never happen!

I have real-life friends who are both American and Irish, and when they talk, I will do anything to keep the conversation going, just because I love their accents.

Many might find me strange, well, even I find me strange when it comes to my mad fetish; so I wouldn't blame you!

Tonight, I have baffled my husband as neither of us can understand what we have termed my crazy fetish.

I just can't get enough of the American and Irish accents.

Maybe, it's a love thing that is a trait of my personality, or maybe I still have teenage hormones in my 40s!

If you have a theory I want to know.

I also want to know; are there any accents that you have a fetish for?

Maybe you could write a story about it, or let me know in the comments.

SecretsHumanityEmbarrassment
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll24 days ago

    I love Script as well and the lead singer of Ah ha band. I love Irish accent and especially the British accent. My friend on Vocal sent a few recordings of his voice on messager. Maybe that's why I like Bridget Jones's Diary. Great Article to write about very engaging

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.