Confessions logo

Dear Mom,

I've always known I was gay

By Shay GrossPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Dear Mom,

I wanted to write you because I feel that it's so much easier to express my feelings through writing than it is verbally communicating. I can see my thoughts before I have to say them out loud and edit what i'm thinking. I wanted you to know that I always knew I was gay. I knew when I was so young, when I didn't even know that gay was such a thing. I didn't know anyone who was gay, I didn't know that it was even a thing to be gay, but I knew that I thought girls were pretty, and there times I caught myself thinking about having a crush on girls.

Remember the matchbox car collection we had? How I would sit on the long window seal and line them up to make paths and make them be friends - well, they weren't just friends. I would make the girls date the girls, and I remember that exact moment when it hit me. I made two of my "girl cars" date each other, and I sat there for a minute and I thought to myself, "Do I want to date a girl?". I would get myself so deep into thought I would sit and stare, zoning out into this thought - what if I like girls? How will I tell my family? How will they react? What if it's just a phase? You can't like girls, you're "supposed" to like boys. I remember stressing myself out so bad about these thoughts that I would make my cars break up trying to get the thought out of my head that I was fantasizing about something that didn't even exist. I thought that I might have been the only one, and it scared me. I was scared to be different. It was in this moment that I knew I wasn't straight.

When I was growing up nobody ever talked to me about people who were gay, or even that being gay was even a thing in general. It wasn't until I was into middle school that I started realizing that being gay was a thing. I went to school with people who were gay, and it fascinated me just hearing about it because it sounded like me. I never talked to any guys, I didn't even have any male friends in middle school, I never had a crush on a boy in middle school, I didn't really look at boys like that. Nope, I was too distracted by the girls :)

I finally got to the age where my friends were starting to talk about boys and get boyfriends (yuck), and I would try to fit in with them and talk about boys, but I never meant any of it. I didn't know how to tell my boy crazed friend group that I liked girls. I thought I had to hide who I was to fit in with my own friends. So I did, until I got to high school. I don't know how this wasn't so obvious because somehow, a majority of my friends at the time were all gay. It's like we all magnetized together somehow. HAHAHA!! I remember my sister said to me the one day, "Why are all of your friends gay? You guys don't have anything in common." And I laughed in my head because I actually did have a lot in common with them, they just didn't know I did. I thought by now, being in my late teens that I would have had the nerve to come out of the closet, but my extended family was SO homophobic. Since you raised us to be so family oriented, I was afraid that it wouldn't ruin just my relationship with the extended family, but you and Dad's too. So I hid who I was until I was 20 years old. After high school so I didn't have to deal with anymore bullying in school, and after I found the love of my life. The one who I couldn't hide the real me from, and the one that I knew I would spend the rest of my life with. When I met Sarah, I didn't want to hide who I was anymore. Suddenly, I didn't care who didn't like me after that, or if I would get bullied or comments made about me. Everything that I worried about a majority of my life, didn't worry me anymore. And I was actually so excited about it every second. I was still really nervous to tell everyone, but I wasn't afraid of what the outcome was. I knew that I needed to do what was best for me, and what was going to make me happy.

Mom, I'm sorry I didn't tell you sooner. I know you're feelings were hurt when you found out after 20 years of my life. But I honestly feel like I needed to really grow and figure myself out before I should share a part of myself that I didn't even fully understand. I wish I would have understood myself sooner. But I think that everything happend the way that it did so that I could meet Sarah at exactly the right time that I did. I am SO happy, Mom. I have such a happy life with her, and I am so happy that you love her like she is your own. My life has always been good, but life has been nothing short of amazing since I came out. I'm glad that things happened the way they did, and I think out of all of this, I'm most happy about finally knowing exactly who I am, and living so comfortably in this life.

I guess I just wanted to say, thank you for being so supportive of me, and understanding that I wasn't any different than I was before I told everyone. I'm still the same, the only difference is that everyone just knows my secret (that's not so secret) :) and I'm so glad its OUT!

Love, Shay <3

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Shay Gross

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.