Confessions logo

A Letter To My Future Self.

Love, Me

By Shay GrossPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
A Letter To My Future Self.
Photo by Mediamodifier on Unsplash

Hey.

When you're reading this I hope you made it.

When I say made it, I mean I hope you made it to where you always dreamed of being, and where you always felt like you belonged. I hope you did all of the things you didn't think you would. I hope you got your dream job, I hope you made it out of debt, and bought that expensive car you wanted that you didn't need. I hope you married the love of your life and made a cute little family.

I hope that you grew from every obstacle that you had to go through, and never let it define you. I know that there were times that things got so hard and you didn't see the light at the end of the tunnel, I know that school got so overwhelming at times that you questioned of whether or not it was even worth it and if you would ever make it in life. You probably did. But if you didn't, its ok. I know you'll get there. God has a funny way of making things happen. You see, your problem was always that you didn't give yourself enough credit for how smart you are and the things that you were capable of achieving. Life is hard, you wont ever have a day where everything goes right and you get what you want handed to you. But you made it through every hard day and every time you thought you couldn't make it. Now look at where you are. You were always capable of doing well and being the best, you were always going to succeed, YOU were the only one telling yourself that you wouldn't.

I hope you eventually stopped always doing things for other people. I know thats who you are and that's what you do but don't you remember all those nights that laid in bed at night crying, wondering why nobody is there for you? Wondering why you were always bending over backwards for people who never did the same. I remember you being so heartbroken that you asked God why he put so many people in your life that made you feel like you weren't important when you did everything to please everyone. That's where you went wrong. You shouldn't have been asking God why he did those things. You should have been asking yourself why you didn't trust in God to let things work out the way he had planned all along.

You see, your mind is a crazy place. You get in there and think about a hundered things that could go wrong instead of living in the moment and enjoying the good that was happening right before your eyes. The thing is - we arent all on the same timeline. Stop looking at everyone elses life and comparing yours to theirs. It's crazy when you stop and think about things in complete silence, your thoughts are a lot louder when you do that. That's when you really start thinking. I hope you learned to start thinking about that really good coffee you got from your favorite coffee shop this morning, or that absolutely stunning sunrise you saw on your way to work. I hope that instead of dwelling on the negative all the time, that you learned to give the positive even more attention than the negative.

I hope that you quit worrying about the things that you cant control, because they quite frankly - things that you cant control. Maybe finally take your dad advice. "Quit worrying so much baby, you have an amazing life"

Love, Me <3

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Shay Gross

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.