Confessions logo

Dear

A Love Gone Too Late

By Andrew DominguezPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1

Dear.

Here’s my confession to you.

You have always made me feel too much of too little.

Here’s what you’ve made me remember.

When I was two, I remember every detail of your relationship with your ex-husband. I remember when he left. I remember you crying.

When I was three, I remember my Tia. I remember us watching kids programming together. I remember her bouncing me in her arms, a kid, up and down. I remember you never being around.

When I was four, I remember my grandpa. He was a grumpy man, but a good man. He was the only man I consistently remember.

When I was five, I remember meeting my grandma for the first time, my Lita. I remember falling in love for the first time. I remember meeting my surrogate mother.

When I was still five, I remember the time I ran into your pregnant belly housing one of my best friends, Kari. I remember the beating your returned husband gave me. I remember you not saying anything.

When I was still five, I remember meeting Kari, seeing her alive. I remember making a friend for the first time. I remember praying “thank you” while looking into the sky.

When I was six, I remember your husband leaving again. I remember you threatening to send me away with him if I misbehaved again.

When I was seven, I remember you not very much. I remember my grandpa and Lita. I remember cartoons and telenovelas, caricatures as friends and surrogate caretakers. I remember too much of them and too little of you to misremember.

When I was eight, the cycle went on repeat. I remember understanding more and more of things not meant for a kid to speak. I remember the conversations between my grandpa and Lita, my surrogate parents. I remember thinking where you were, not that it mattered. Thinking something into existence rarely brings results to those who don’t matter.

When I was nine, the cycle repeated half-circle. Sometimes you were there, only to cause further despair. You were too much for me to bear. I remember you leaving, I remember you once again fleeing.

When I was ten, I remember you returning. You acted like you were ready to be a maternal giver. You made some meals, said some nice words. I remember thinking, “Is she really going to give me a litte more?” I remember my anger and loneliness and seeing you and feeling remorse.

When I was eleven, none of that mattered. I remember you colliding with everything. You said they were the problem. I remember me foolishly believing “my poor mother.”

When I was twelve, I remember us too colliding. You said, “Go away, I’m tired.” I remember I too was tired.

When I was thirteen, I remember us speaking. You demanded I pay for the nourishment I was needing. I remember the day our roles began changing, I remember you peaking.

When I was fourteen, I remember us saying very little. I remember nothing but fizzle.

When I was fifteen, I remember the talk we had. I remember meeting my “dad” for the first time, but not feeling glad.

When I was sixteen, I remember me thinking, “how much more can she lie!” I remember it not being a good feeling.

When I was still sixteen, I remember you being, nothing more than a woman with no clue and less of a mother with each passing season.

When I was still sixteen, I remember you saying, “If he dies, remember he loves you.” I remember thinking, “When will your lies stop, for the sake of all that matters!”

When I was seventeen, it was you and me and Kari again. I remember thinking, “Will this always be the theme? What does it mean?”

When I was eighteen, the roles were no longer interchangeable; I remember the day I signed my name and I adopted the title of unofficial caretaker.

When I nineteen, away went my first line of credit. I remember you saying, “I promise I’ll pay.” I remember me thinking,” That’s such a small price to pay.”

When I was twenty, I remember me thinking, “I have to leave now, before my love reaches a complete oblivion.”

When I was twenty-one, I was gone. A foolish attempt, I remember you calling and me thinking, “What more does she want to collect? Will she ever repent?”

When I was twenty-two to twenty-five, it was so slightly liberating. I no longer saw you daily, but I remember your bills, they were scaling. I remember every call. I remember every “You can’t do anything for me!” I remember me thinking, “My dear, why is there always so little for me to give?”

When I was twenty-six, I signed away our relationship. I remember signing to make your dreams come true, I remember the day I signed my own doom.

When I was twenty-seven and twenty-eight, I began to learn the meaning of hate. I remember me thinking, “Will she stop using my grandpa, Lita, and Kari as bait!”

When I was twenty-nine, I began to see myself crumbling. I remember the bones, the rubber skin, and my internal crying. I stupidly confided in you, I don’t know why. I remember the little you did, and the stupid things you said, the little that came to your mind.

When I was thirty, the world we lived in ended. I remember the new world, days and days inside. No end in sight. I remember me thinking, “At least now she can stay away.”

When I was still thirty, I began to feel an ugly peace. I remember the dead weight lifted, I thought to myself, “Thank God for this pandemic. Unlike her, it’s endemic.”

When I was thirty-one, there was nothing left to save. I remember me thinking, “This is the end of us, why did it come so late!”

When I was thirty-two, we said our ugly goodbyes. I remember me thinking, “I knew it would end in a fight.”

When I was still thirty-two, there was nothing left for you to seek. I remember me thinking, “Is this what people mean when they say they’ve found salvation?”

When this all ends, I want you to know.

My last confession to you.

Dear.

You killed all the love between us two.

A love I can no longer remember.

It ended not sooner but later.

But it ended thanks to no savior.

I wish you the best.

Dear.

Childhood
1

About the Creator

Andrew Dominguez

Greetings! My name is Andrew Judeus. I am an NY-based writer with a passion for creating romantic narratives. Hopefully my daily wanderings into the land of happily ever after will shed some light into your life. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.