Confessions logo

Dating Sucks.

But dogs are cool

By Sierra ColePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dating Sucks.
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Dating is hard at any age. Especially when you have no idea what you’re wanting. Am I wanting to settle down? Am I wanting to just have some fun? Maybe a Friends With Benefits type agreement? It’s the 21st century, do we even meet people like they did in the golden days anymore?

“Oops sorry. Didn’t see you there.” Said the gorgeous man in the grocery store.

Ha. No. People are using Good Food services, which means their groceries are delivered to their homes.

So that leaves us with the wonderful life of dating apps. Which, in my personal opinion, is hard as fuck. Tinder, Bumble, Plenty of Fish. They all have the same generalized goal, getting people laid. Which is so much easier said than done.

I’ve heard that dating in a new city is hard. This is a statement I can agree with.

But let’s talk about dating in a new province entirely. Trying to date in this new phase of my life makes me feel like I’m a teenager trying to date for the first time. Keep in mind, I’m trying to play the dating game using Tinder. Which in itself is never a good idea. Especially when you don’t quite know what you’re looking for. Tinder most certainly brings out the shallow side of people. As children we’re told never to judge a book by it’s cover, then as we grow and experience technology and dating apps, that’s exactly what we do. Playing the Tinder games in an area I knew felt so much easier than it is now. I thought men were men. They all impress the same, and can only think with one head at a time.

I assumed I’d figure out what I wanted as I went. Ha. Ha. HA. WRONG. In the month that I have been here, I have been ghosted more times than I can count. Was it something I said? No clue. We never got to the in person meeting, so it couldn’t have been that. I’ve been ‘left on read’ for more hours than I’ve had conversation. There’s been instances where there’s been a match, I’ve sent a message, then he unmatched. If you’re scared of conversation, why swipe right in the first place? I’ve had great conversations with some people. Then they find out I write as a hobby, and are never heard from again. Are they scared of becoming my next piece?

So I’ve thought about going out. Socializing. Meeting people like the old folks did. But I’m telling you, this town is scary after dark. During the day you get the crazy old folks, during the evening you get the crazy married folks. But during the night. Oh Jesus! During the night you get the people who can’t tell you what’s up or down because they’re spinning. You can smell the booze from 6 feet away.

Now let’s discuss dating, in a new province, during a pandemic. That shit doesn’t exist. So many people are scared to go out because of it. But they cannot, for the god given life of them, hold up a conversation!

I have two favorites so far. The ones who message you the bare minimum, enough so you remember what they look like, and that they’d be cool to meet. As well as the ones who make plans with you, then cancel an hour or two before, EVERYTIME.

At 22, is it too early in life to decide that I’m going to be that celibate old lady, can’t say grandma because clearly this girl isn’t going to be playing the family game, who has some weird hobby? Like knitting, or collecting weird figurines. Or gardening. Is it too early at this age to call it quits, and just get a bunch of… something. Dogs. Dogs are cool.

Dating sucks.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Sierra Cole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.