Confessions logo

Current State of Things

Where I’m at in Life

By BigSteff SAPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Let my tombstone read “I tried” when I die/ That means I did my best in my eyes before my demise/ Did everything that I could, within my power to succeed, go up like a dick and rise/ Gave it my all, so they’ll be no regrets in the grave where I’ll lie/ But the fact remains I’m still alive/ Doing everything I can to make ends meet with a strong will to survive/ Gotta put food on the table for my two kids/ So I work 9 to 5 to provide, making sure I do this/ No excuse when it comes to raising children, no loose ends/ Trying to make passive income and build my own kingdom, as I pursue this/ See, I learned the hard way in this life that there’s no true friends/ It’s either you persevere or you don’t, don’t be clueless/ If you don’t check on me, hit me up or care for me now, don’t if I’m no more/ I don’t pretend to be something I’m not, so I won’t go hardcore/ Other than being a man and handling my business, why would I act hard for?/ Married life ain’t all it’s cracked up to be, but I manage it/ You can’t be as you once were, a bachelor, and no true freedom, that’s the disadvantages/ But you get someone you can spend the rest of your life with/ And fact of the matter is that’s priceless/ Life’s kicking my butt like crazy/ Demanding that I make more money/ On a never ending search for cash, finding ways to prevent being bummy/ Rent taking away most of what I earn/ That counted money is limited, it goes like calories I burn/ See the reality is earned money is old and it keeps you broke, that’s what I learned/ One must strive for multiple streams of income/ One must be an entrepreneur, be business minded , no one’s at fault but you, I need some wisdom/ I acquire it as the years go by, so I’m pleased to know where it stems from/ Paying bills endlessly like I owe the system/ Well, utilities are based on my usage, I know, but it’ll still show I’m pissed son/ Taxes are taken out your pay check before you get it/ I don’t even bother to look at the gross because I can’t spend it, and that’s so upsetting/ When you use your card and it declines/ You’re tempted to go hard and try several times/ As you do, what you’re trying to buy still don’t get paid for/ People around looking at you funny, it becomes embarrassing, know the feeling? I’ll say no more/ It’s frustrating, like life itself when you’re struggling/ It feels everything be falling apart sometimes, kinda like cookies crumbling/ I try to keep my head up and not get fed up/ But it’s easier said than done in actuality, but when you fall get up/ Stressful nights at work slaving for Amazon/ Coping with it, it’s amazing how I keeping going on and on/ Best job I ever had, so I keep racing to it when it’s time to leave home, am I wrong?/ I believe they’re better days ahead/ So until then I’ll storm the weather and get this bread/ Dad is gone forever, won’t ever forget his effort/ He did a lot for me, true story, most definitely, word!/ He was the heart of the Ardey family, make no mistake/ He held it down until old age caught up with em, taking no breaks/ He was fearless, bold, he loved life and love God/

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.