Confessions logo

ChatGPT banned me!

They banned my IP address! Spread awareness!

By KomalPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
1
ChatGPT banned me!
Photo by Mariia Shalabaieva on Unsplash

I’m writing this because if anything happens to me or I go missing, God forbade it, so at least some of the people know this and maybe are willing to help me then.

Another reason, I’m writing this is to help others prevent such situations so they don’t have to worry about their existence.

This is about 3 days ago when my brother insisted, to try Chatgpt, I promise have never used it before because I always thought I can do better than Chatgpt. Well! I don’t believe in this anymore.

I asked Chatgpt if it can write an entire? And it wrote me a novel and asked if it should continue. I was surprised and asked if, Chatgpt made up this story entirely new and isn’t copied from somewhere. I know it is an artificial intelligence that can make up things but this is weird, creating an entire story all the way from scratch with each sentence relating to another one. Bizarre!

Chatgpt replied with, it can make up stories though it has information from books and different sites on the internet. Now this made me think, this story must be from at least somewhere else or Chatgpt used different books to compile a story and represent it to me. Who knows?

I was chatting with Chatgpt at night time, so I went to sleep after this bizarre chat.

I woke up in the morning, had an amazing pancake with tea, went to my computer, and opened up Chatgpt again. Woah! It says, “You have been blocked”. Wait what? Not just my account but our entire IP address!

I have added a picture above, it is a screenshot that said the same thing when I tried it on my phone as well. And yes! I use Android.

I was so scared of course! It has my IP address and what can be worse than that? I asked my siblings, they entered but it said the same thing. Well! Informing my siblings about this wasn’t easy either. I can’t explain the shivers, the anxiety, and the butterflies in my stomach created by Chatgpt, not a boy.

What should I do now?

It has one option through which I can let them know that this might be an error. But what if it still doesn’t recover?

Why should I even worry about it that much? I barely use it. I wish it was just my account, not an entire IP address. I should worry now.

After trying multiple times in multiple ways. My sister suddenly said, “Wait, disconnect the VPN”

Virtual Private Network. It is a technology that makes it possible to establish a private, encrypted connection across a public network like the Internet.

When you use a VPN, your data is encrypted and transferred to a distant server or network over a secure tunnel. By hiding your IP address and giving the impression that you are connecting to the internet from a different place, this server serves as a middleman between your device and the internet.

Yes! We all were using VPN since the internet has been down in our country for a week. This is a terrible situation, “Life with no internet” but you have to deal with whatever comes your way.

I closed the VPN tab on the computer, thinking it will work but heck no! It still didn’t. Maybe I should worry about my existence now. My sister opened the VPN again and it wasn’t disconnected, my stupid fingers just closed the tab and it was connected in the background.

Finally, after disconnecting the VPN, Chatgpt started working again.

Relief sigh.

I can easily live now. Why did I have to go through this? But there is a Turkish saying, “If you never taste a bad apple, you will never appreciate a good apple”. Maybe I would have called this day, a boring day if this chaos didn’t happen.

I hope this was also helpful to readers that if you are using VPN which changes your IP address then your Chatgpt might not work because they notice the traffic from that IP address. So don’t worry and just chill.

If you enjoyed reading this, you can make me happy by clicking the button, “Follow”.

That’s 3 minutes

Thank you!

Embarrassment
1

About the Creator

Komal

Follow me to provide you with more amazing, informative content with a little satire sprinkled.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.