Confessions logo

Cancer-Lifechanging situation

sad rollecoster for my grandma

By Adéla UrbánkováPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

I personally think that most of my post, maybe almost each one, but this one is gonna be an exception. This is going to be a story about my grandmother and cancer, yes you are hearing it right cancer. Why this you are probably wondering right? Well actually this is a serious thing and I am just feeling that I need this to be done, I need to tell this to someone, I need to write my feelings down. By the way I am really sorry if I am going to make a mistake somewhere my bad, english is not my first language and I am writing this at the end of the day. So here comes the story.

About 9 years ago my grandmother was diagnosed with breast cancer. At that time I was pretty little , so I did not know that much about it. But I have realized the change of everyone : the worries, change of expressions , . . .

I started to worry, I mean , I was still just a little kid who 's life has just started.

Well I'm gonna start here. My grandma and my whole family that comes from my moms side lives like an hour and half away from us. They live in a small town and we live in a village right close to a pretty big city. So you may guessed it right that she started to drive here to visit some hospitals but not just here also in their town and other big cities even our capital Prague (yes I am from Czechia). Little me started to notice that my grandma was coming to visit us more and more often it was weird , because most of the time me with my mom and my younger brother were the one that came to visit.

Things kept like that for a really big while. I have seen her looking more I could say weird (for my younger me) for example her whole face changing and her balding etc... I think I knew that she had cancer , but I was too little to actually understand it pretty much.

But at the end ( or so we thought ) was a happy ending of her actually beating it.

Now you are probably wondering about the " or so we thought " thing.

Here is the start of the year 2022 my grandma that has beaten once the breast cancer got diagnosed with it again. Now me and also my younger brother ( that I've mentioned once ) are already old enough to understand this situation.

At this point I got really sad and I did not even know what to say about it, it had just made me speechless. I' ve actually realized the situation.

My grandmas' cancer in 2022 had some ups and downs , but overal we were all thinking yes go get it you are going to beat it even for the second time you are doing it. Yes I have seen her balding and not feeling the best , but everything was according to the plan. Untill the 2023 came...

When 2023 started things got worse and worse. I have often seen my mom calling with her sister ( my aunt that lives with her and helps her a lot ) that she is not feeling well. When my mom told me what was actually going on it shocked me. She told me that her meds were not working and that they were also making her feel really bad to the moment she couldnt drive to work (they own their own company which is 100 m away from their home). My aunt would find her unconscious laying in the car or two steps in front of it (luckily she wasnt in a car crash-she didnt faint while riding the car).

One day because of everything that has happened my aunt drove her to a hospital in my city and at the end she was told not to take meds to cure cancer for a whole week. And a thing I forgot to mention she couldn't even speak properly she was coughing after every word and then couldn't finish the whole semtence.

The whole week nothing happened but she was still not feeling any good. But in about 2 months she started to drive again she even visited us by her self and she was taking those meds.

Things started to get good but they are saying that the things that happen might come again and the most important thing that they are saying that there is NO chance of her surviving -nothing is happening but its just getting worse and nothing is helping.

Family
Like

About the Creator

Adéla Urbánková

i love queen deborah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.