Confessions logo

Broken Hearts

I Thought It Was Funny

By Graham CookePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
6
Broken Hearts
Photo by Jeffrey F Lin on Unsplash

There are times: when I need to focus; to get facts straight; and, to recount or recall an episode in my life. It is only then that I can put everything in perspective to tell a tale of "a funny, TRUE story involving one or more of" my "childhood friends."

Well, I understand focus; understand "True;" and, understand "childhood friends."

Darn it! There are so many stories of my adult'ing that are likely funnier than some childhood "shenanigans" or antics. But I do recall a few though, even given my advanced age.

As best I recall, I think my downward slide into depravity started before the age of eleven in grade school with my best friend, Danny, who I met in grade three. I was eleven when I started smoking, likely because of Danny. But Danny and I were "tight," right on until we both graduated school and went our separate ways.

NOTE: Yes; I was later in life able to reconnect with Danny via social media. That's how long we were out-of-touch.

Oh, Danny and I got into so much trouble, our families each started setting rules. That's how bad it got. I laugh as I think back.

Sure there were the multiple feats of strength or stamina, so to speak, of which we'd challenge each other. Oh, plus, there were the multiple times when we'd be at each others' house while our parents were out and we'd make the hilarious, random, prank, telephone call asking, " ... refridgerator running," or " ... Prince Albert in a can." I still laugh thinking about those.

Three incidents, though, really stand out: first, what I could best describe as breaking the record for hijinks at heights; second, breaking not the sound barrier but unbreakable glass; and third, breaking unbreakable hearts. It is this third of which I shall recall next.

There is a fourth incident which I could recall but he and I have a pact that is still sacrosanct to this day: "it shall never be spoken of publicly unless we're together sharing it with friends" - all I can say is "kite."

There were many girls for which we competed. I remember more than a few, and of course, Danny got them all. He was the cool kid and natural athlete. He may have broken a few hearts but I never did.

Well, when this new family moved in down the block, almost dead center on the walk between Danny's and my house, we found out quick about their kids. Mainly because their eldest - a son - landed in our high school, grade ten, classes. Danny and I both became good friends with the family's son, Steve, who was our age and participated in the same activities at high school.

Danny and I even got to meet all three of Steve's sisters. Yes; I still smile thinking of those three young ladies - the eldest a year younger than Steve but two years senior to the middle girl, and six years senior to the youngest.

Obviously, being in high school, the youngest was most definitely out of the question, since we were, though prone to getting into trouble, both young lads of morals. Hey; I attended Danny's Baptist church a few times (previously) just to check it out. Neither of us, though, were that devout. Also, neither of us would attempt making advances on a girl three years younger back then either. So, that left the eldest of Steve's sisters.

Well, to make things interesting, we thought we should lay a wager which was time limited. If neither of us could obtain a "date" with Steve's sister, then it became a stale-mate. However, I decided after learning Steve's father was a minister at a new small Baptist church to start attending their youth group. This was when I learned that Steve's family had only relocated a short distance in town from the church. I also learned through this youth group that there was another young lad of the same age as Danny, Steve and I who already had earned the affection of Steve's sister. The young lad was similar to the core as Danny: sauve, charming, cool, curly-haired, athletic if not moreso than Danny in the same sports, but a non-smoker.

So, I bided my time, till the time limit on our wager ran out, knowing full well Danny had no chance. Yes; I lost; Danny lost; and to top things off, a year later, the eldest sister grew older and wiser, and dumped the other young lad.

At least I got to make new friends in that youth group. I might not remember that other young lad's name from the youth group. But after Steve's sister dumped him, I do recall he started joining Danny, Steve and I out at the local ski hill where we all continued competing: athletically on the slopes and for girls' attention in the lodge.

NOTE: if you're interested to know more of our antics, I suggest you read the subsequent story Clean.

About the Author:

Friendship
6

About the Creator

Graham Cooke

Semi-retired contract technical writer, editor and content developer now writing creatively in the genres of adventure, post-apocalyptic and science fiction, and technical gear reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.