Confessions logo

Anorexia

The story behind the bones

By Mia LohmannPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
Anorexia
Photo by Olenka Kotyk on Unsplash

Hey you,

today I want to talk to you about a very personal topic - anorexia. In this post I want to share a bit of my own story and at the same time give you information, approaches and food for thought. I promise you that it won't always be easy, but I believe that together we can become stronger.

The causes of anorexia can be many and varied. For me, it all started with a distorted body image. I was never really overweight, but in my mind I was. The constant pressure to look thin eventually led me down the dangerous path of anorexia. But believe me, this is not about beauty ideals. Anorexia often has deeper psychological causes that should not simply be ignored. It is important to accept yourself and not be influenced by unrealistic standards.

The causes of anorexia can be multi-layered and complex. However, there are certain factors that can increase the risk of developing anorexia. Here are some possible causes:

1. social influences: The idea of an ideal body image propagated in the media and society can lead to a distorted body image. The pressure to be thin and conform to a certain norm can cause people to develop unhealthy eating behaviors.

2. genetics: there is a genetic component in the development of eating disorders. People who have close family members who also struggle or have struggled with an eating disorder are at a higher risk of developing anorexia themselves.

3. Personality traits: Certain personality traits such as perfectionism, low self-esteem, high sensitivity, and need for control may increase the risk of developing anorexia. People with these traits tend to seek control over their eating behavior to compensate for their insecurities.

4. psychological problems: Anorexia is often accompanied by other mental health problems such as depression, anxiety disorders, obsessive-compulsive disorder, or self-esteem problems. These mental health issues can contribute to people developing an unhealthy approach to food.

5. Traumatic experiences: Serious traumatic events such as abuse, neglect, bullying, or family conflict can increase the risk of developing an eating disorder. Eating disorders can also serve as a coping mechanism to deal with difficult emotions and events.

The consequences of anorexia are also devastating, both physically and emotionally. My body became weaker and weaker, and my thoughts turned only to food - or more precisely, to avoiding it. Anorexia isolated me from my family and friends because they could not understand my struggle. I lost control of my own life, which plunged me into a deep darkness.

The consequences of anorexia can be severe in both the short term and the long term. Following are some of the possible effects on the body:

1. weight loss: anorexia leads to severe weight loss, which can lead to malnutrition and deficiency symptoms.

2. muscle weakness: due to the lack of nutrients and calories, there may be a decrease in muscle mass and strength.

3. hormonal problems: disturbed eating habits can affect hormonal balance and lead to the absence of menstruation (amenorrhea), which can become infertility in the long run.

4. osteoporosis: a lack of calcium and vitamin D can lead to a lower bone density, which increases the risk of bone fractures..

But I have found a way to escape this darkness. And maybe you can too. The first step to finding a solution was for me to admit to myself that I had a problem. It wasn't easy, but that moment was crucial. I sought professional help and began therapy, which supported me in changing my thought patterns and regaining control over myself.

It is understandable that you have doubts, fears and worries. However, I want to remind you that you are not alone. There are people who want to support you, who understand you, and who are willing to stand by you on this difficult road.

Deciding to go to therapy may be the best thing you can do for yourself. It is a courageous step toward recovery and restoring your physical and emotional well-being. Remember, you don't have to be trapped in this vicious cycle forever. There is hope and there is a way out.

Therapy can help you understand and cope with the deeper causes of your anorexia. You will learn to develop healthy thinking patterns and maintain a realistic body image. Therapists will support you in taking back control of your life in a healthy way.

There will certainly be moments when you will doubt - moments when you will want to retreat and escape into the familiar but destructive world of anorexia. But it's in those moments that you need to be strong. Remind yourself of your goals and that you are worthy of living a full, healthy and happy life.

You deserve to laugh again, to feel joy, and to enjoy the little things in life. You deserve to be free from the shackles of anorexia and focus on what really matters.

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.